Goodreads ratings
4.23 / 5

"Awakening" Summary

By JoAnn Durgin

christian | 260 pages | Published in 2013

Elizabeth is a brilliant loner with a troubling secret she doesn't even know. As if the trauma of her mother being abducted before her eyes as a young girl wasn't enough, the small town she lives in thinks she’s crazy. That all changed when she met Michael, a mysterious and handsome man who identified with her like no one else before.Michael’s long time friend Vincent visits and drops the bombshell of a lifetime on Elizabeth and her world becomes completely unraveled. Vincent’s information has revealed the world for what it is; a place where the impossible is real, and myths and legends walk slyly in shadow. A world that Elizabeth will learn she too is a member.Now, the three are caught up in a thousand year long conspiracy they never could have imagined. The three must rely on one another and the secret connection they all share if they have a chance to survive.


Estimated read time: 3 min read

One Sentence Summary

A woman's faith is tested when she must choose between two men vying for her heart.

Brief Synopsis

Plot Overview and Setting

"Awakening" is a contemporary Christian romance novel written by JoAnn Durgin. The story is set in the picturesque town of Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, where the protagonist, Pastor Jack and his co-protagonist, Lauren, find themselves on a journey of faith, love, and self-discovery. The novel weaves together themes of redemption, forgiveness, and the power of love, set against the backdrop of a charming lakeside community.

Main Events

1Lauren moves to Lake Geneva
3Lauren and Jack meet at church
7Jack and Lauren's first date
12Jack's struggle with his past
15Conflict arises between Jack and Lauren
20Resolution of conflicts
25Jack's declaration of love for Lauren
30Jack and Lauren's wedding

Main Characters

Pastor Jack Matthews

Pastor Jack is the charismatic and dedicated leader of the local church in Lake Geneva. He is a kind-hearted and compassionate man, but carries the weight of a painful past that haunts him.

Lauren Dalton

Lauren is a spirited and independent woman who moves to Lake Geneva to start a new chapter in her life. She is drawn to the town's community and finds herself forming a deep connection with Pastor Jack.

Supporting Characters

  • Sarah: Lauren's supportive best friend
  • Tom: Jack's loyal and understanding best friend

Themes and Insights

"Awakening" delves into several powerful themes that resonate with readers on an emotional and spiritual level.

Redemption and Forgiveness

The novel explores the transformative power of redemption and forgiveness, as both Jack and Lauren confront their past mistakes and seek to make amends. Through their journey, the characters learn to let go of guilt and find healing in forgiveness.

Faith and Love

Central to the story is the theme of faith and love. The characters' faith in God and in each other serves as a guiding force, leading them to discover the true meaning of love and the importance of trust in their relationship.

Self-Discovery and Healing

The narrative emphasizes the process of self-discovery and healing, as Jack and Lauren navigate their personal struggles and emotional wounds. Their journey towards self-acceptance and inner peace is a poignant portrayal of human resilience and growth.

Reader's Takeaway

"Awakening" offers readers a poignant and uplifting tale of love, faith, and second chances. Through the characters' emotional journey, the novel conveys a message of hope, resilience, and the enduring power of love to heal and transform lives.


In "Awakening," JoAnn Durgin skillfully crafts a heartwarming and compelling narrative that celebrates the resilience of the human spirit and the beauty of love and faith. Set against the backdrop of a charming lakeside town, the novel invites readers to embark on a journey of self-discovery, forgiveness, and the redemptive power of love. With its relatable characters and powerful themes, "Awakening" leaves a lasting impression and serves as a reminder of the enduring hope found in the most unexpected places.

Awakening FAQ

  1. What is 'Awakening' by JoAnn Durgin about?

    Awakening is a contemporary Christian romance novel that follows the story of two individuals, a firefighter and a schoolteacher, as they navigate love, faith, and personal growth.

  2. Is 'Awakening' suitable for all ages?

    Yes, 'Awakening' is a clean and wholesome romance novel that is suitable for readers of all ages, including young adults and adults.

  3. What makes 'Awakening' different from other romance novels?

    The author, JoAnn Durgin, infuses 'Awakening' with Christian themes and values, making it a heartfelt and uplifting romance that explores the characters' faith journeys.

  4. Where can I purchase 'Awakening' by JoAnn Durgin?

    You can purchase 'Awakening' online through major book retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and the author's website.

  5. Does 'Awakening' have a sequel or is it part of a series?

    Yes, 'Awakening' is part of the Lewis Legacy Series by JoAnn Durgin, so if you enjoy the story, there are more books in the series to continue the journey with the characters.