13 Treasures
Goodreads ratings
4.04 / 5

"13 Treasures" Summary

By Michelle Harrison

fantasy | 368 pages | Published in NaN

No one else can see the evil fairies that rouse Tanya from her sleep, torturing her at the slightest mention of their existence, but they are as real to the 13-year-old as anything she's ever known. She cannot rid herself of them, nor can she ignore them. But it is her insistence on responding to them that has her banished to her grandmother's secluded countryside manor.There is much to explore and even more to fear in the woods surrounding the estate. But, the forest isn't the only source of dark secrets, and Tanya soon finds herself entangled in a mystery that could trap her in the fairy realm forever.


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young girl with the ability to see fairies embarks on a dangerous quest to solve a mystery from the past.


In Michelle Harrison's captivating novel, "13 Treasures," readers are transported into a world of magic, mystery, and adventure. With its richly developed characters and intricate plot, this book keeps readers on the edge of their seats from beginning to end. Harrison's storytelling prowess shines through as she weaves together an enchanting tale that will leave readers longing for more.

Brief Synopsis

"13 Treasures" is set in the idyllic English countryside, where our protagonist, thirteen-year-old Tanya Mills, reluctantly spends her summer in her grandmother's old manor. As Tanya explores her new surroundings, she stumbles upon a hidden door that leads to an ancient and magical world. This discovery sets off a chain of events that unravels the secrets of the manor and reveals the existence of fairies.

Main Characters

Tanya MillsA thirteen-year-old girl who possesses the ability to see fairies. She is curious, brave, and determined to uncover the mysteries of her grandmother's manor.
Fabian GrayA mischievous fairy who befriends Tanya and becomes her guide in the magical world. Fabian is clever, quick-witted, and holds his own secrets.
RedA mysterious and elusive fairy who initially causes trouble but later forms an unlikely alliance with Tanya. Red is fierce, independent, and harbors a deep resentment towards humans.
Granny MillsTanya's grandmother, who is knowledgeable about fairy folklore and becomes a source of guidance for Tanya.

Summary of Story Points Over Chapters

Chapter 1-5: Unveiling the Hidden Door

Tanya arrives at her grandmother's manor and discovers a hidden door in the attic. Intrigued, she opens it and finds herself in a magical world filled with fairies. Tanya befriends Fabian, a fairy who becomes her guide.

Chapter 6-10: The Secrets of the Manor

As Tanya delves deeper into the magical world, she uncovers the secrets that surround her grandmother's manor. She learns about the existence of the thirteen treasures and the prophecy that foretells her involvement in their retrieval.

Chapter 11-15: The Hunt for the Treasures

Tanya and Fabian embark on a quest to find the thirteen treasures, each possessing unique powers. Along the way, they face numerous challenges and encounter Red, a fierce and resentful fairy. Tanya must learn to trust her instincts and make difficult choices to protect herself and those she cares about.

Chapter 16-20: Confronting the Evil

Tanya and her newfound allies must confront the evil forces that seek to possess the treasures for their nefarious purposes. With time running out, Tanya must tap into her inner strength and harness the power of the fairies to save herself and her loved ones.

Main Events

  1. Tanya discovers a hidden door in her grandmother's manor, leading to a magical world.
  2. Tanya befriends Fabian, a mischievous fairy who becomes her guide.
  3. Tanya uncovers the existence of the thirteen treasures and the prophecy surrounding them.
  4. Tanya and Fabian embark on a quest to find the treasures, facing challenges and meeting Red along the way.
  5. Tanya confronts the evil forces seeking to possess the treasures and must rely on her inner strength and the power of the fairies to save the day.

Themes and Insights

The Power of Friendship and Trust

Throughout the story, the theme of friendship and trust is prominent. Tanya forms unlikely alliances with Fabian and Red, learning to trust them despite their initial differences. These relationships prove crucial in overcoming obstacles and achieving their goals.

Embracing One's Abilities and Destiny

Tanya initially struggles with her ability to see fairies and her role in the prophecy. As the story progresses, she embraces her gift and learns to trust her instincts. This theme encourages readers to embrace their own abilities and trust in their unique paths.

Reader's Takeaway

"13 Treasures" is a captivating and enchanting novel that transports readers into a world of magic and adventure. With its well-developed characters, intricate plot, and themes of friendship and self-discovery, this book is sure to leave readers wanting more. Michelle Harrison's storytelling prowess shines through in this magical tale, making it a must-read for fans of fantasy and adventure.


In "13 Treasures," Michelle Harrison takes readers on a thrilling journey filled with fairies, secrets, and unexpected alliances. Through the eyes of Tanya Mills, readers experience the power of friendship, the importance of trust, and the realization that destiny can be embraced. With its engaging plot and well-crafted characters, "13 Treasures" is a book that will captivate readers of all ages and leave them eagerly awaiting the next installment in the series.

13 Treasures FAQ

  1. What is '13 Treasures' about?

    13 Treasures is a fantasy novel about a young girl named Tanya who has the ability to see fairies. She embarks on a dangerous adventure to rescue her mother from the clutches of an evil fairy queen.

  2. Who is the author of '13 Treasures'?

    The author of '13 Treasures' is Michelle Harrison.

  3. Is '13 Treasures' part of a series?

    Yes, '13 Treasures' is the first book in the '13 Treasures Trilogy'.

  4. What age group is '13 Treasures' suitable for?

    '13 Treasures' is recommended for readers aged 10 and above.

  5. Are there any sequels to '13 Treasures'?

    Yes, the sequels to '13 Treasures' are '13 Curses' and '13 Secrets'.

  6. Is '13 Treasures' a standalone book or does it end on a cliffhanger?

    '13 Treasures' can be read as a standalone book, but it also sets up the events for the sequels.

  7. Where can I purchase '13 Treasures'?

    You can purchase '13 Treasures' online through various retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Book Depository.

  8. Are there any movie adaptations of '13 Treasures'?

    As of now, there are no movie adaptations of '13 Treasures'.

  9. Is '13 Treasures' a good book for fans of fantasy and fairy tales?

    Yes, '13 Treasures' is a captivating book that combines elements of fantasy and fairy tales, making it a great choice for fans of both genres.

  10. Does '13 Treasures' have any awards or accolades?

    Yes, '13 Treasures' won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize in 2009.