A Wrinkle in Time
Goodreads ratings
4 / 5

"A Wrinkle in Time" Summary

By Madeleine L'Engle

fantasy | 218 pages | Published in 1962

It was a dark and stormy night.Out of this wild night, a strange visitor comes to the Murry house and beckons Meg, her brother Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe on a most dangerous and extraordinary adventure—one that will threaten their lives and our universe.Winner of the 1963 Newbery Medal, A Wrinkle in Time is the first book in Madeleine L'Engle's classic Time Quintet.


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young girl, her brother, and a friend travel through space and time to rescue her scientist father from the clutches of an evil force.


"A Wrinkle in Time" by Madeleine L'Engle is a timeless classic that takes readers on an extraordinary journey through time and space. This beloved novel weaves elements of science fiction, fantasy, and adventure into a captivating narrative that has enchanted readers of all ages since its publication. With its compelling themes of love, bravery, and the battle between good and evil, "A Wrinkle in Time" continues to resonate with audiences around the world.

Brief Synopsis

Plot Overview and Setting

"A Wrinkle in Time" is set in both the small town of Meg Murry's home and across the universe. The story begins with Meg, her brother Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin O'Keefe encountering three mysterious beings—Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which—who guide them on a perilous journey to rescue Meg and Charles Wallace's father, Mr. Murry, who has been captured by an evil force known as the Dark Thing. As they travel through space and time, the children encounter strange and wondrous worlds while facing numerous challenges that test their courage and resilience.

Main Events

The story unfolds through a series of captivating events that propel the characters on their quest to save Mr. Murry and confront the forces of darkness. Here are the main events of "A Wrinkle in Time" broken down by chapters:

1Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin meet Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which
2The children learn about the tesseract and the concept of "wrinkling" time
3The trio of children travel to the planet Uriel with the help of the Mrs. Ws
4Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin confront the dark planet of Camazotz and meet the Man with Red Eyes
5The children discover the power of love and individuality in the face of conformity
6Meg confronts the dark force and saves Charles Wallace from its control
7The children are reunited with Mr. Murry and return home

Main Characters

The story features a diverse cast of characters, each with their own unique qualities and contributions to the narrative:

Meg Murry

The protagonist of the story, Meg is a determined and strong-willed young girl who embarks on a transformative journey to save her father.

Charles Wallace Murry

Meg's exceptionally intelligent and enigmatic younger brother, Charles Wallace plays a pivotal role in the children's quest.

Calvin O'Keefe

A kind-hearted and sensitive boy, Calvin becomes an important ally to Meg and Charles Wallace on their adventure.

Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which

Mysterious celestial beings who guide the children on their journey, each with distinct personalities and abilities.

Mr. Murry

A brilliant scientist and the father of Meg and Charles Wallace, Mr. Murry becomes a focal point of the children's mission.

Themes and Insights

Good vs. Evil

The novel explores the timeless theme of the battle between good and evil, as the children confront the malevolent forces that seek to engulf the universe in darkness.

The Power of Love

Love emerges as a powerful force that transcends time and space, guiding the characters and enabling them to overcome formidable challenges.

Individuality and Conformity

The story delves into the importance of embracing one's individuality and resisting the pressures of conformity, as the children encounter a world ruled by uniformity and control.

The Nature of Light and Darkness

L'Engle skillfully incorporates the symbolism of light and darkness, using them to represent the struggle between enlightenment and ignorance, hope and despair.

Reader's Takeaway

"A Wrinkle in Time" offers readers a thought-provoking and imaginative journey that resonates with themes of courage, love, and the triumph of good over evil. Through its rich storytelling and compelling characters, the novel inspires readers to embrace their individuality, confront their fears, and believe in the power of love to overcome darkness.


In conclusion, "A Wrinkle in Time" continues to captivate audiences with its timeless narrative and profound themes. Madeleine L'Engle's masterful storytelling and vivid imagination have solidified the novel's status as a literary classic that continues to inspire and enchant readers of all generations. Whether experiencing the story for the first time or revisiting its wondrous world, readers are certain to be drawn into the extraordinary tale of courage, love, and the triumph of light over darkness.

A Wrinkle in Time FAQ

  1. What is the genre of A Wrinkle in Time?

    A Wrinkle in Time is a science fiction and fantasy novel.

  2. Who is the author of A Wrinkle in Time?

    A Wrinkle in Time was written by Madeleine L'Engle.

  3. What is the main theme of A Wrinkle in Time?

    The main themes of A Wrinkle in Time include the battle between good and evil, the power of love, and the importance of individuality.

  4. Is A Wrinkle in Time part of a series?

    Yes, A Wrinkle in Time is the first book in the Time Quintet series, which includes four other books.

  5. What age group is A Wrinkle in Time suitable for?

    A Wrinkle in Time is suitable for readers aged 10 and above, but it can be enjoyed by readers of all ages.