After Ever Happy
Goodreads ratings
4.08 / 5

"After Ever Happy" Summary

By Anna Todd

romance | 512 pages | Published in 2015


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

The tumultuous love story of Tessa and Hardin reaches its emotionally charged conclusion, as they grapple with past mistakes and strive to find their happily ever after.

After Ever Happy by Anna Todd: A Rollercoaster of Love and Heartbreak


"After Ever Happy" is the fourth and final installment in the After series by Anna Todd. This New York Times bestselling novel takes readers on an emotional rollercoaster as they follow the tumultuous relationship between Tessa Young and Hardin Scott. Picking up where the previous book left off, this novel explores the complexities of love, forgiveness, and second chances. With its captivating storytelling and relatable characters, "After Ever Happy" is a book that will keep readers hooked until the very end.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in present-day Seattle, Washington, and follows the lives of Tessa and Hardin after their tumultuous breakup. Tessa is trying to move on and start a new chapter in her life, while Hardin is grappling with his past mistakes and the consequences they have on their relationship. As they navigate their separate paths, both Tessa and Hardin face new challenges and discover truths about themselves and each other. Will they be able to overcome their differences and find their happily ever after?

Main Characters

Tessa YoungA determined and independent young woman who is trying to find her own identity and happiness amidst the chaos of her relationship with Hardin.
Hardin ScottA complex and troubled young man who struggles with his past and the destructive patterns that threaten his relationship with Tessa.

Summary of Different Story Points over Chapters

Chapter 1-5: Facing the Consequences

Tessa and Hardin both come to terms with the consequences of their actions in the previous book. Tessa begins her internship at Vance Publishing, where she meets a charming coworker named Smith. Meanwhile, Hardin tries to prove his commitment to change and gain Tessa's trust back.

Chapter 6-10: New Challenges and Temptations

Tessa's relationship with Smith becomes complicated as she tries to resist the temptation of being with someone new. Hardin, on the other hand, faces his own challenges when he is confronted by his past and the secrets he has been keeping.

Chapter 11-15: Second Chances and Forgiveness

Tessa and Hardin face crossroads in their relationship and must decide if they can truly forgive each other and move forward. They both make efforts to rebuild their trust and create a healthier foundation for their love.

Chapter 16-20: Unveiling the Truth

The truth about Hardin's past is finally revealed, shedding light on his insecurities and fears. Tessa must decide if she can accept his past mistakes and embrace the person he is becoming.

Chapter 21-25: Love Conquers All

Tessa and Hardin's love is put to the ultimate test as they face unforeseen challenges and make difficult choices. They must confront their deepest fears and insecurities to fight for their relationship and the future they desire.

Main Events

  1. Tessa's internship at Vance Publishing and her growing connection with Smith.
  2. Hardin's journey to prove his commitment to change and gain Tessa's trust back.
  3. Tessa and Hardin's struggles with temptation and the challenges of rebuilding their relationship.
  4. The revelation of Hardin's past and the impact it has on their relationship.
  5. Tessa and Hardin's final battle to overcome obstacles and fight for their love.

Themes and Insights

  1. Forgiveness and Second Chances: The novel explores the complexities of forgiveness and the power of second chances in relationships. Tessa and Hardin must confront their own flaws and past mistakes to find healing and move forward together.
  2. Identity and Self-Discovery: Both Tessa and Hardin embark on journeys of self-discovery, seeking to understand their own identities outside of their relationship. They learn the importance of embracing their true selves and finding happiness within.
  3. Love and Sacrifice: "After Ever Happy" delves into the sacrifices one is willing to make for love. Tessa and Hardin must face difficult choices and make compromises to protect their relationship and the person they love.

Reader's Takeaway

"After Ever Happy" is a captivating and emotional conclusion to the After series. Anna Todd's writing skillfully portrays the complexities of love, forgiveness, and personal growth. Readers will be left reflecting on the power of second chances and the importance of self-discovery in relationships. The book serves as a reminder that love is not always easy, but it is worth fighting for.


"After Ever Happy" by Anna Todd is a gripping conclusion to the After series, taking readers on a rollercoaster of emotions as they witness the ups and downs of Tessa and Hardin's relationship. With its relatable characters, compelling storyline, and exploration of themes such as forgiveness and self-discovery, this book is sure to leave a lasting impact on readers. Whether you have followed the series from the beginning or are new to the world of Tessa and Hardin, "After Ever Happy" is a must-read for fans of contemporary romance and coming-of-age stories.

After Ever Happy FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'After Ever Happy'?

    The genre of 'After Ever Happy' is contemporary romance.

  2. Is 'After Ever Happy' a standalone book or part of a series?

    'After Ever Happy' is the fourth and final book in the 'After' series.

  3. Who is the author of 'After Ever Happy'?

    The author of 'After Ever Happy' is Anna Todd.

  4. Can 'After Ever Happy' be read as a standalone or should I read the previous books in the series?

    It is recommended to read the previous books in the 'After' series before reading 'After Ever Happy' to fully understand the story and characters.

  5. What is the storyline of 'After Ever Happy'?

    'After Ever Happy' continues the tumultuous love story between Tessa and Hardin as they face various challenges in their relationship and strive to find happiness together.

  6. What are the themes explored in 'After Ever Happy'?

    Some of the themes explored in 'After Ever Happy' include love, forgiveness, redemption, and self-discovery.

  7. Are there any trigger warnings for 'After Ever Happy'?

    Yes, 'After Ever Happy' contains mature content, explicit language, and deals with sensitive topics such as abuse and addiction.

  8. Is there a happy ending in 'After Ever Happy'?

    While the book is titled 'After Ever Happy,' it is recommended to read it to discover the conclusion of Tessa and Hardin's story.

  9. Where can I purchase 'After Ever Happy'?

    'After Ever Happy' can be purchased from various bookstores, online retailers, and as an e-book.

  10. Are there any plans for a movie adaptation of 'After Ever Happy'?

    As of now, there are no official plans for a movie adaptation of 'After Ever Happy,' but the previous books in the 'After' series have been adapted into movies.