Goodreads ratings
4.17 / 5

"Afterlife" Summary

By Joey W. Hill

bdsm | 360 pages | Published in 2011

Destiny awaits Bianca and Lucas. . . .Bianca and Lucas believe they could endure anything to be together. When fate transforms Bianca into a ghostly wraith and turns Lucas into a vampire—the very creature he spent his life hunting—they are left reeling.There is only one place Lucas can turn for help . . . Evernight Academy. But the vampire hunters of Black Cross are still pursuing them, and a final battle between wraiths and vampires looms at Evernight. Bianca and Lucas are facing dangers on every side—sometimes even from their oldest friends and allies. They've overcome every obstacle life has thrown at them, but is their love strong enough to survive the challenges after life? Book Details: Format: Paperback Publication Date: 3/6/2012 Pages: 384 Reading Level: Age 14 and Up


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A woman discovers a world of pleasure and pain in the arms of a mysterious man who may hold the key to her salvation.


Welcome to the book summary page of "Afterlife" by Joey W. Hill. In this captivating novel, Joey W. Hill takes us on a journey through the afterlife, exploring the depths of love, loss, and redemption. With its rich character development and intricate plot, "Afterlife" is a thought-provoking and emotionally charged tale that will leave readers pondering the meaning of life and the power of forgiveness.

Brief Synopsis

"Afterlife" is set in a fictional afterlife realm called the Community. This ethereal world is a place where souls go after death to find peace and healing. The story follows the life of Matthew, a troubled soul who is haunted by the mistakes of his past. As he navigates through the afterlife, he encounters various characters who help him find redemption and discover the true purpose of his existence.

Main Characters

MatthewThe protagonist of the story, Matthew is a tormented soul searching for redemption in the afterlife.
EmilyA compassionate and wise guide in the Community, Emily helps Matthew on his journey towards healing.
GabrielA mysterious and enigmatic figure, Gabriel plays a crucial role in Matthew's transformation.
SarahMatthew's lost love, Sarah appears in his dreams, forcing him to confront the mistakes of his past.
MichaelThe wise and compassionate leader of the Community, Michael provides guidance and support to Matthew.

Summary of Story Points over Chapters

Chapter 1: A Soul's Journey Begins

Matthew awakens in the Community, confused and disoriented. Emily, a kind soul, explains to him that he has passed away and is now in the afterlife. She becomes Matthew's guide, helping him understand the nature of the Community and his purpose within it.

Chapter 2: Haunted by Regret

Matthew is tormented by dreams of Sarah, his lost love. He carries immense guilt and regret for the mistakes he made during his life, and these emotions continue to haunt him. Emily encourages him to confront his past and seek forgiveness.

Chapter 3: A Mysterious Encounter

Matthew encounters Gabriel, a mysterious figure who seems to know more about Matthew's past than he lets on. Gabriel challenges Matthew to face his deepest fears and confront the darkness within himself.

Chapter 4: The Power of Forgiveness

As Matthew delves deeper into his past, he realizes the importance of forgiveness. He must not only seek forgiveness from others but also learn to forgive himself. With Emily's guidance, he begins the process of healing and redemption.

Chapter 5: Uncovering the Truth

Matthew uncovers shocking truths about his past that he had suppressed. He comes to terms with the consequences of his actions and learns valuable lessons about the impact of his choices on others.

Chapter 6: A New Purpose

Guided by Gabriel and Emily, Matthew discovers his true purpose in the afterlife. He realizes that he has the power to make amends and positively impact the lives of others. He embraces his role as a catalyst for change and redemption.

Main Events

  • Matthew's arrival in the Community and meeting Emily, his guide.
  • Matthew's recurring dreams of Sarah and his struggle with guilt.
  • The mysterious encounters with Gabriel and the challenges he presents to Matthew.
  • Matthew's journey of self-discovery and the process of forgiveness.
  • The uncovering of hidden truths from Matthew's past.
  • Matthew's realization of his purpose and his transformation into a catalyst for change.

Themes and Insights

Redemption and Forgiveness

"Afterlife" explores the powerful themes of redemption and forgiveness. Through Matthew's journey, readers are reminded of the importance of seeking forgiveness from others and finding the strength to forgive oneself.

The Impact of Choices

The novel also delves into the idea that every choice we make has consequences, not only for ourselves but for those around us. It emphasizes the need for self-reflection and taking responsibility for our actions.

Love and Loss

The profound love between Matthew and Sarah serves as a driving force in the story. The exploration of love and loss allows readers to reflect on the significance of relationships and the impact they have on our lives.

Reader's Takeaway

"Afterlife" is a deeply introspective and emotionally charged novel that will resonate with readers who enjoy thought-provoking stories. It encourages reflection on the themes of redemption, forgiveness, and the power of love. Joey W. Hill's skillful storytelling and compelling characters make "Afterlife" a captivating read that will leave a lasting impression.


In "Afterlife," Joey W. Hill takes readers on a transformative journey through the afterlife. Through the experiences of the main character, Matthew, readers are invited to explore the themes of redemption, forgiveness, and the power of love. This thought-provoking novel leaves a lasting impression, reminding us of the importance of introspection, self-forgiveness, and the impact of our choices. "Afterlife" is a must-read for those seeking a profound and emotionally charged story.

Afterlife FAQ

  1. What is the genre of the book 'Afterlife'?

    The book 'Afterlife' is a paranormal romance novel.

  2. Who is the author of 'Afterlife'?

    The author of 'Afterlife' is Joey W. Hill.

  3. What is the main storyline of 'Afterlife'?

    'Afterlife' follows the story of a vampire named Adam and a human woman named Karina who become entangled in a passionate and dangerous relationship.

  4. Is 'Afterlife' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Afterlife' is part of the 'Vampire Queen' series by Joey W. Hill.

  5. What are some other books in the 'Vampire Queen' series?

    Some other books in the 'Vampire Queen' series include 'Vampire Mistress', 'Vampire Trinity', and 'Vampire Instinct', among others.

  6. Is 'Afterlife' suitable for young readers?

    'Afterlife' is intended for adult readers due to its explicit content and mature themes.

  7. Where can I purchase 'Afterlife'?

    'Afterlife' can be purchased from various online retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and the author's official website.

  8. Does 'Afterlife' have a happy ending?

    The ending of 'Afterlife' is open to interpretation and may vary depending on the reader's perspective.

  9. Are there any sequels planned for 'Afterlife'?

    As of now, there are no announced sequels for 'Afterlife'.

  10. Has 'Afterlife' received any awards or critical acclaim?

    Yes, 'Afterlife' has received positive reviews from readers and has been praised for its compelling characters and intense romance.