Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A group of unlikely allies must uncover the truth behind ancient myths and legends to save their world from impending doom.


"Age of Myth" is the first book in the epic fantasy series, "The Legends of the First Empire," written by Michael J. Sullivan. Set in a world filled with magic, mythical creatures, and ancient legends, this novel takes readers on a thrilling adventure that explores the origins of myths and the power of storytelling. With its rich world-building, complex characters, and captivating plot, "Age of Myth" is a must-read for fans of epic fantasy.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in a land called Elan, a world where gods and goddesses once roamed freely among humans. But now, the gods have disappeared, leaving behind only myths and legends. The humans, known as Rhunes, are divided into various tribes and kingdoms, each with its own conflicts and struggles.

The main character, Raithe, is a young warrior from the Dureyan clan, driven by revenge after his father's murder. During a fateful encounter, Raithe kills a god, which sets off a chain of events that threatens to plunge the world into chaos. Persephone, a widow and a skilled tracker, finds herself caught in the middle of the conflict as she tries to protect her people and uncover the truth behind the disappearance of the gods.

As Raithe and Persephone's paths cross, they join forces with a band of misfits, including a wise old wizard, a fierce warrior, and a mysterious elf, to unravel the mysteries of the past and forge a new future for Elan. Along the way, they must confront ancient enemies, navigate treacherous alliances, and uncover the true nature of their own destinies.

Main Events

1Raithe's father is killed by Fhrey, the immortal beings mistaken for gods
3Raithe kills a Fhrey, sparking conflict between Rhunes and Fhrey
6Persephone discovers a hidden temple and learns about the true nature of the gods
10Raithe and Persephone join forces and gather a group of allies
15The group embarks on a journey to find the lost city of Dhal Rhen
20Raithe and Persephone confront the Fhrey and learn the secrets of their power
25The final battle takes place, leading to the fall of the Fhrey and the rise of a new era

Main Characters

  • Raithe: A skilled warrior from the Dureyan clan, seeking revenge for his father's death.
  • Persephone: A widow and a skilled tracker, determined to protect her people and uncover the truth.
  • Suri: A young mystic with the ability to communicate with animals and nature.
  • Arion: A powerful mage with a troubled past, joining the group to uncover the secrets of the gods.
  • Malcolm: A wise old wizard and scholar, guiding the group on their journey.
  • Nyphron: The leader of the Fhrey, immortal beings mistaken for gods.

Themes and Insights

Power of Myths and Legends

The novel explores the importance of myths and legends in shaping society and individuals' beliefs. It delves into the idea that stories have the power to inspire, unite, and even control people. Through the disappearance of the gods and the rediscovery of ancient truths, the characters in "Age of Myth" question the origins of their beliefs and the role of storytelling in their lives.

Conflict and Prejudice

The book also tackles themes of conflict and prejudice as the Rhunes and Fhrey clash due to misunderstandings and deep-rooted biases. It examines the consequences of hatred and the potential for unity and understanding among different groups.

Nature vs. Civilization

The contrast between the natural world and the advancements of civilization is another theme explored in the novel. The characters' connection with nature and the mystical powers they possess highlight the importance of maintaining a balance between progress and the preservation of the natural world.

Reader's Takeaway

"Age of Myth" is a captivating and immersive fantasy novel that combines intricate world-building, compelling characters, and thought-provoking themes. It takes readers on a thrilling journey filled with twists, betrayals, and the exploration of ancient mysteries. Michael J. Sullivan's masterful storytelling and richly developed characters make this book a must-read for fans of epic fantasy.


"Age of Myth" sets the stage for an epic fantasy series that delves into the origins of myths, the power of storytelling, and the complexities of human nature. With its engaging plot, well-crafted characters, and exploration of timeless themes, Michael J. Sullivan's novel offers a thrilling and thought-provoking reading experience. Whether you're a fan of fantasy or simply enjoy a well-told tale, "Age of Myth" is sure to captivate and leave you eager for more.

Age of Myth FAQ

  1. Who is the author of 'Age of Myth'?

    The author of 'Age of Myth' is Michael J. Sullivan.

  2. What genre does 'Age of Myth' belong to?

    'Age of Myth' belongs to the fantasy genre.

  3. Is 'Age of Myth' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Age of Myth' is the first book in the 'The Legends of the First Empire' series.

  4. What is the plot of 'Age of Myth'?

    'Age of Myth' is set in a world where humans worship the Fhrey, a race of powerful beings. When a human tribe is attacked by the Fhrey, a young warrior named Raithe rises up to challenge their authority and sets in motion events that could change the fate of humanity.

  5. Are there any notable characters in 'Age of Myth'?

    Yes, some notable characters in 'Age of Myth' include Raithe, a young warrior; Persephone, a widow seeking justice; Suri, a young seer with magical abilities; and Brin, a skilled archer.

  6. What is the reception of 'Age of Myth'?

    'Age of Myth' has received generally positive reviews from critics and readers, praising its engaging plot, well-developed characters, and immersive world-building.

  7. How long is 'Age of Myth'?

    'Age of Myth' has a length of approximately 432 pages.

  8. Is 'Age of Myth' suitable for young readers?

    'Age of Myth' is generally recommended for mature readers due to its complex themes and some violent scenes.

  9. Are there any sequels to 'Age of Myth'?

    Yes, 'Age of Myth' is followed by several sequels, including 'Age of Swords', 'Age of War', 'Age of Legend', and 'Age of Death'.

  10. Where can I purchase 'Age of Myth'?

    'Age of Myth' can be purchased from various online retailers, such as Amazon and Barnes & Noble, as well as from local bookstores.