Goodreads ratings
4.36 / 5

"Animorphs" Summary

By K.A. Applegate

science fiction | 8245 pages | Published in NaN

Animorphs "RM" is an exciting series for young adult readers about five teens who are given the power to "morph" into any animal they touch and then to absorb its DNA. This power is granted them by a dying Andalite alien named Elfangor, who also warns the teens that Earth is being threatened secretly by a group of aliens called Yeerks. This high-interest series is currently a successful television show and will be sure to intrigue even the most reluctant readers.


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A group of teenagers gain the ability to morph into animals and must use their newfound powers to defend Earth from an alien invasion.


"Animorphs" is a science fiction book series written by K.A. Applegate. The series follows a group of teenagers who gain the ability to morph into any animal they touch, enabling them to fight an alien race known as the Yeerks. With a total of 54 books, "Animorphs" takes readers on an exciting and action-packed journey through the lives of these young heroes as they battle to save humanity.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in the fictional town of Bayview, where five teenagers - Jake, Rachel, Cassie, Tobias, and Marco - stumble upon a dying alien named Elfangor. Elfangor gives them the power to morph into any animal they touch, as well as the mission to protect Earth from the Yeerks, a parasitic alien species that invade and control the minds of other beings.

The main setting of the series is a constant battle between the Animorphs and the Yeerks, taking place in various locations such as schools, forests, cities, and even in outer space. The Animorphs lead double lives, struggling to balance their everyday teenage problems while fighting a hidden war against the Yeerks.

Main Characters

JakeThe leader of the Animorphs, known for his strategic thinking and bravery.
RachelJake's cousin, a fierce and daring warrior who enjoys the thrill of battle.
CassieThe compassionate and empathetic member of the group, with a love for animals.
TobiasA boy who becomes trapped in the body of a red-tailed hawk after an accident.
MarcoThe group's humorous and clever member, often providing comic relief.

Summary of Story Points

Chapters 1-5: The Discovery

The Animorphs first encounter the dying alien Elfangor, who grants them the power to morph. They learn about the Yeerks and their plan to invade Earth. The group takes on their first mission to rescue Jake's older brother, Tom, who has been infested by a Yeerk.

Chapters 6-10: The Battle Begins

The Animorphs discover that the Yeerks have infiltrated their school and are using their classmates as hosts. They must gather evidence and find a way to expose the Yeerks without revealing their own secret identities.

Chapters 11-15: The Andalite Chronicles

The group learns about the history of the Andalites, Elfangor's species, through a series of flashbacks. They discover the existence of a powerful Andalite weapon that could potentially defeat the Yeerks.

Chapters 16-20: The Morphing Cube

The Animorphs obtain a morphing cube, a device that allows them to morph into any animal without needing to touch them. However, they soon realize that the Yeerks are also after the cube, leading to a dangerous confrontation.

Chapters 21-25: The Invasion

The Yeerks launch a full-scale invasion of Earth, using their host bodies to take control of important positions in society. The Animorphs must rally allies and come up with a plan to stop the Yeerks before it's too late.

Main Events

  1. The Animorphs gain the power to morph and learn about the Yeerks' invasion plans.
  2. The group rescues Jake's brother, Tom, from Yeerk control.
  3. The Animorphs discover the Yeerks' infiltration of their school and gather evidence against them.
  4. The history of the Andalites and the existence of a powerful weapon are revealed.
  5. The Animorphs obtain a morphing cube, leading to a confrontation with the Yeerks.
  6. The Yeerks launch a full-scale invasion of Earth, putting the Animorphs' mission in jeopardy.

Themes and Insights

  1. Identity and Sacrifice: The Animorphs constantly grapple with their dual identities as both teenagers and warriors, often sacrificing their personal lives for the greater good.
  2. Morality and War: The series explores the moral complexities of war, as the Animorphs are forced to make difficult choices and face the consequences of their actions.
  3. Friendship and Trust: The strong bond between the Animorphs is tested through their shared experiences and the secrets they must keep from others.
  4. Environmentalism and Animal Rights: Through Cassie's character, the series promotes the importance of respecting and protecting the natural world and its creatures.

Reader's Takeaway

"Animorphs" is a thrilling and thought-provoking series that combines science fiction, action, and ethical dilemmas. Readers will be captivated by the fast-paced storytelling and the engaging characters. The series explores themes of identity, sacrifice, friendship, and the moral complexities of war, making it a rewarding read for both young adult and adult readers.


"Animorphs" is a highly popular book series that has captivated readers of all ages since its release. With its unique premise, memorable characters, and thought-provoking themes, the series offers an exciting and rewarding reading experience. Whether you're a fan of science fiction, action, or stories with deep moral questions, "Animorphs" is sure to leave a lasting impression.

Animorphs FAQ

  1. What is 'Animorphs' about?

    Animorphs is a science fiction series that follows a group of five teenagers who have the ability to morph into any animal they touch. They use their powers to fight against an alien invasion and protect the Earth.

  2. Who is the author of 'Animorphs'?

    The author of 'Animorphs' is K.A. Applegate.

  3. How many books are in the 'Animorphs' series?

    There are a total of 54 books in the 'Animorphs' series.

  4. What age group is 'Animorphs' suitable for?

    'Animorphs' is generally recommended for readers aged 8 and older.

  5. Is 'Animorphs' a completed series?

    Yes, 'Animorphs' is a completed series with a total of 54 books.

  6. Can 'Animorphs' be read as standalone books or should they be read in order?

    While each book in the 'Animorphs' series has its own story, it is generally recommended to read them in order to fully understand the ongoing plot and character development.

  7. What genre does 'Animorphs' belong to?

    'Animorphs' is primarily classified as a science fiction and young adult series.

  8. Are there any spin-off books or companion novels related to 'Animorphs'?

    Yes, there are a few companion books and spin-off series that expand on the 'Animorphs' universe, such as 'Megamorphs' and 'The Ellimist Chronicles'.

  9. Is 'Animorphs' suitable for both boys and girls?

    Yes, 'Animorphs' appeals to both boys and girls, as it features a diverse group of characters and explores various themes.

  10. Are there any TV adaptations or movies based on 'Animorphs'?

    Yes, 'Animorphs' was adapted into a TV series that aired from 1998 to 2000.