Goodreads ratings
3.69 / 5

"Barbarian" Summary

By Lynne Ewing

young adult | 264 pages | Published in NaN

Obie hates Los Angeles and all the junk that goes with it-especially trying to fit in at Thomas Turney High School. But with bounty hunters trying to capture him, his Renegade roommates urge him to lay low with his band and forget about ever getting back hoome. it's hard to blend in at school, though, when you've just made enemies with the football team. Obie can't keep away from Allison, the most popular girl in school and the girlfriend of the star quarterback, Sledge. And when his true love, Inna, shows up and pleads for his help, Obie must return to the one place he fears most.


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young girl discovers her hidden powers and embarks on a dangerous journey to protect the world from an ancient evil.

Barbarian by Lynne Ewing: A Captivating Tale of Power, Love, and Identity


In the gripping novel "Barbarian" by Lynne Ewing, readers are taken on a thrilling journey through the lives of four teenage girls who possess extraordinary powers. Set in modern-day Los Angeles, this urban fantasy novel explores themes of self-discovery, friendship, and the struggle for power. With its compelling plot, well-developed characters, and thought-provoking insights, "Barbarian" keeps readers on the edge of their seats from start to finish.

Brief Synopsis

"Barbarian" is an enchanting tale that follows the lives of four girls: Delos, Catty, Rox, and Emma. Each of them possesses a unique power that sets them apart from their peers. Delos is a shape-shifter, Catty can control the elements, Rox has the ability to heal, and Emma is a sorceress. The girls, unaware of their true potential, attend a prestigious high school called Belgrave, where they face the challenges of adolescence while also navigating their supernatural abilities.

As the story unfolds, the girls discover that they are descendants of an ancient civilization known as the Atlanteans. With this revelation, they are thrust into a world of political intrigue and power struggles. They must learn to control their powers, uncover their true identities, and confront the forces that seek to destroy them.

Main Characters

DelosA shape-shifter with a rebellious spirit and a fierce determination. She is a natural leader and the glue that holds the group together.
CattyA kind-hearted girl with the power to control the elements. She possesses a deep connection with nature and an innate wisdom beyond her years.
RoxA compassionate healer with a gentle nature. She is empathetic and always puts others' needs before her own.
EmmaA mysterious sorceress with a dark past. She is fiercely independent and struggles to trust others.

Summary of Story Points

Chapter 1: The Awakening

  • The four girls meet for the first time at Belgrave High School and feel an instant connection.
  • Delos discovers her shape-shifting abilities during a confrontation with a bully.

Chapter 2: Secrets Unveiled

  • The girls learn about their Atlantean heritage from a cryptic message left by Delos' grandmother.
  • Catty discovers her ability to control the elements during a storm.

Chapter 3: The Training Begins

  • The girls seek guidance from a wise mentor named Brigid, who helps them understand and control their powers.
  • Delos struggles with her shape-shifting abilities and the fear of losing herself in the process.

Chapter 4: Power Struggles

  • The girls encounter a rival group of Atlanteans led by a power-hungry girl named Selene.
  • Selene attempts to recruit Delos to join her side, creating a rift within the group.

Chapter 5: The Battle Begins

  • The girls unite to confront Selene and her followers in a climactic battle.
  • They tap into their powers and work together to defeat Selene and her forces.

Main Events

  1. The girls discover their supernatural abilities and learn about their Atlantean heritage.
  2. Delos grapples with her shape-shifting abilities and the fear of losing herself.
  3. The girls encounter a rival group of Atlanteans led by Selene, creating tension within their group.
  4. The girls undergo training to control and harness their powers.
  5. The climactic battle between the girls and Selene's forces takes place, testing their strength and unity.

Themes and Insights

  • Identity and Self-Discovery: The girls embark on a journey of self-discovery as they uncover their true identities and embrace their unique powers.
  • Friendship and Loyalty: The bonds of friendship between the girls are tested as they navigate power struggles and external threats. They learn the importance of trust, support, and standing by each other.
  • Power and Responsibility: The girls must learn to wield their powers responsibly and resist the temptation to abuse them. They discover the true meaning of power and its impact on those around them.
  • Acceptance and Belonging: The girls struggle with feelings of being different from their peers but ultimately find acceptance and a sense of belonging within their group.

Reader's Takeaway

"Barbarian" is a captivating novel that combines elements of fantasy, adventure, and coming-of-age. Through the engaging storyline and well-developed characters, readers are transported into a world where ordinary teenagers discover extraordinary powers. The book explores themes of self-identity, friendship, and the choices we make when faced with power. It leaves readers with a sense of empowerment and the belief that embracing our true selves is a journey worth taking.


Lynne Ewing's "Barbarian" is a captivating urban fantasy novel that takes readers on a thrilling journey of self-discovery, friendship, and power. With its well-crafted plot, relatable characters, and thought-provoking themes, this book is sure to captivate readers of all ages. Whether you're a fan of fantasy novels or simply enjoy a compelling story, "Barbarian" is a must-read that will leave you eagerly awaiting the next installment in the series.

Barbarian FAQ

  1. What is the genre of the book 'Barbarian'?

    The book 'Barbarian' by Lynne Ewing is a young adult fantasy novel.

  2. What is the plot of the book 'Barbarian'?

    The book 'Barbarian' follows the story of a teenage girl named Delos who discovers that she is a descendant of legendary Amazons and possesses extraordinary powers. She must navigate a world filled with ancient secrets, dangerous enemies, and her own inner turmoil.

  3. Who is the author of 'Barbarian'?

    The author of 'Barbarian' is Lynne Ewing.

  4. Is 'Barbarian' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Barbarian' is the first book in the 'Daughters of the Moon' series by Lynne Ewing.

  5. What age group is the book 'Barbarian' suitable for?

    The book 'Barbarian' is suitable for young adult readers, generally recommended for ages 12 and up.

  6. Are there any sequels to 'Barbarian'?

    Yes, 'Barbarian' is followed by several sequels in the 'Daughters of the Moon' series, including 'The Sacrifice,' 'The Rapture,' 'The Choice,' and more.

  7. Where is the book 'Barbarian' set?

    The book 'Barbarian' is primarily set in Los Angeles, California.

  8. Can I read 'Barbarian' as a standalone book?

    While 'Barbarian' can be enjoyed as a standalone book, it is part of a larger series with an overarching story arc.

  9. Is 'Barbarian' a romance novel?

    While there are romantic elements in 'Barbarian,' it is primarily a fantasy novel focused on adventure, mythology, and supernatural powers.

  10. Is 'Barbarian' based on any mythology?

    Yes, 'Barbarian' draws inspiration from Greek mythology, particularly the Amazon warriors.