Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A woman enters into a dangerous love triangle with her married boss and his mysterious wife.


"Behind Her Eyes" by Sarah Pinborough is a gripping psychological thriller that delves into the complexities of relationships, secrets, and the blurred lines between dreams and reality. The novel unfolds a web of deceit and manipulation as it follows the intertwined lives of three main characters – Louise, David, and Adele. Set against the backdrop of modern-day London, the story takes unexpected twists and turns, keeping readers on the edge of their seats until the final, mind-bending revelation.

Brief Synopsis

The plot of "Behind Her Eyes" revolves around Louise, a single mother and secretary, who finds herself entangled in a passionate affair with her new boss, David. At the same time, Louise befriends Adele, David's enigmatic and troubled wife. As the relationships between the three characters become increasingly complex, dark secrets from the past resurface, and the boundaries between dreams and reality blur. The story is set in the present day, primarily in London, where the characters' lives intersect in unexpected and suspenseful ways.

Main Characters

The main characters in "Behind Her Eyes" are:

LouiseA single mother and secretary, longing for excitement and passion in her life.
DavidLouise's charming and enigmatic boss, who is hiding his own secrets and struggles.
AdeleDavid's wife, who appears fragile and vulnerable, yet harbors a dark and mysterious past.

Chapter Summaries

Chapters 1-5

Louise, a recently divorced single mother, meets David in a bar and shares a passionate kiss with him. The next day, she discovers that David is her new boss. She also encounters Adele, David's wife, and the two strike up an unlikely friendship.

Chapters 6-10

Louise continues her affair with David while forming a close bond with Adele. She becomes increasingly enmeshed in the complex dynamics of David and Adele's marriage, all the while keeping her involvement with both of them a secret.

Chapters 11-15

Adele confides in Louise about her troubled past and her struggles with addiction. Meanwhile, Louise becomes more curious about the true nature of David and Adele's relationship, suspecting that there are deeper, darker secrets beneath the surface.

Chapters 16-20

As Louise delves deeper into the mysteries surrounding David and Adele, she becomes embroiled in a web of manipulation, paranoia, and psychological intrigue. Strange occurrences and unexplained phenomena begin to unsettle her, blurring the lines between reality and illusion.

Chapters 21-25

The tension between Louise, David, and Adele reaches a boiling point as the true extent of their intertwined fates is unveiled. The past collides with the present, leading to a shocking and mind-bending revelation that changes everything.

Main Events

  1. Louise's passionate encounter with David in a bar.
  2. The discovery that David is Louise's new boss.
  3. Louise's developing friendship with Adele, David's wife.
  4. Adele's revelations about her troubled past and struggles with addiction.
  5. Louise's increasing suspicions and curiosity about David and Adele's relationship.
  6. The unsettling occurrences that blur the lines between reality and illusion.
  7. The shocking revelation that upends everything Louise thought she knew.

Themes and Insights


  • Deception and Betrayal: The novel explores the ways in which characters deceive and betray one another, leading to unexpected consequences.
  • Psychological Manipulation: The story delves into the intricate web of psychological manipulation and control that shapes the characters' relationships.
  • Dreams and Reality: "Behind Her Eyes" blurs the boundaries between dreams and reality, challenging the reader's perception of what is real and what is imagined.


The novel offers a compelling exploration of the complexities of human relationships, the impact of past traumas on the present, and the lengths to which individuals will go to maintain control and power.

Reader's Takeaway

"Behind Her Eyes" is a gripping and thought-provoking psychological thriller that will keep readers guessing until the very end. The novel's intricate plot, complex characters, and mind-bending twists make it a compelling and unforgettable read. As readers unravel the web of secrets and deception, they will be left pondering the blurred lines between dreams and reality, and the profound effects of betrayal and manipulation on the human psyche.


"Behind Her Eyes" by Sarah Pinborough is a masterfully crafted thriller that captivates readers with its compelling narrative, intricate characters, and suspenseful plot. As the story unfolds against the backdrop of modern-day London, the tangled relationships and dark secrets of the main characters come to light, leading to a shocking and unforgettable conclusion. With its exploration of deception, manipulation, and the blurred lines between dreams and reality, "Behind Her Eyes" is a must-read for fans of psychological suspense and intricate storytelling.

Behind Her Eyes FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'Behind Her Eyes'?

    The genre of 'Behind Her Eyes' is psychological thriller.

  2. Who is the author of 'Behind Her Eyes'?

    The author of 'Behind Her Eyes' is Sarah Pinborough.

  3. What is the main plot of 'Behind Her Eyes'?

    The main plot of 'Behind Her Eyes' revolves around a love triangle and a dark, twisted secret.

  4. Is 'Behind Her Eyes' a standalone novel or part of a series?

    'Behind Her Eyes' is a standalone novel.

  5. What are some themes explored in 'Behind Her Eyes'?

    Some themes explored in 'Behind Her Eyes' include psychological manipulation, secrets, and the complexity of human relationships.