Chosen at Nightfall
Goodreads ratings
4.35 / 5

"Chosen at Nightfall" Summary

By C.C. Hunter

young adult | 400 pages | Published in 2013


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young girl must navigate the dangers of supernatural beings while trying to uncover the truth about her own identity.


"Chosen at Nightfall" is the final installment in the "Shadow Falls" series written by C.C. Hunter. This young adult paranormal romance novel follows the journey of Kylie Galen, a teenager with supernatural abilities, as she navigates her final year at Shadow Falls Camp. Filled with mystery, romance, and self-discovery, this book takes readers on an emotional rollercoaster as Kylie uncovers the truth about her heritage and makes life-altering decisions.

Brief Synopsis

Set in the fictional town of Fallen, Texas, "Chosen at Nightfall" continues the story of Kylie Galen, a teenager who attends Shadow Falls Camp, a summer camp for supernatural beings. Kylie possesses unique abilities, including the power to communicate with ghosts and the ability to see other people's emotions.

As the final year at the camp begins, Kylie finds herself torn between her feelings for two boys: Derek, a werewolf, and Lucas, a half-faery. Alongside her romantic dilemma, Kylie continues to unravel the mysteries surrounding her true identity and her place in the supernatural world.

Main Characters

Character NameDescription
Kylie GalenThe protagonist, a teenager with supernatural abilities
Derek LakesA werewolf and one of Kylie's love interests
Lucas ParkerA half-faery and another love interest of Kylie
Miranda KaneKylie's best friend and a vampire
Della TsangKylie's roommate and a vampire

Summary of Story Points over Chapters

Chapter 1-5: New Beginnings and Love Triangle

Kylie returns to Shadow Falls Camp for her final year, trying to balance her emotions between Lucas and Derek. She also encounters strange dreams and visions, hinting at a hidden truth about her past. The love triangle intensifies as Kylie's feelings for both boys grow.

Chapter 6-10: Unveiling the Past

Kylie delves deeper into her supernatural abilities and seeks guidance from her ghost grandmother. She discovers that she is not only a ghost whisperer but also a chameleon, capable of shifting into different supernatural forms. The revelation raises questions about her true heritage and the identity of her parents.

Chapter 11-15: Facing Challenges and Betrayals

Kylie faces challenges from a rival group of supernatural beings who threaten the peace at Shadow Falls Camp. She also uncovers a betrayal from someone she trusted, which shakes her to the core. As tensions rise, Kylie must rely on her friends and her own inner strength to navigate the treacherous path ahead.

Chapter 16-20: The Final Battle

The final battle between good and evil looms closer as Kylie and her friends prepare to face their greatest adversary yet. Kylie's powers continue to evolve, and she uncovers the truth about her parentage, which has significant implications for the fate of the supernatural world. The climax of the story brings intense action, sacrifices, and unexpected twists.

Main Events

  1. Kylie's return to Shadow Falls Camp for her final year.
  2. The deepening of the love triangle between Kylie, Derek, and Lucas.
  3. Kylie's discovery of her chameleon powers and her quest to uncover her true heritage.
  4. Challenges and betrayals from rival supernatural groups.
  5. The final battle between good and evil, with Kylie and her friends at the center of it all.

Themes and Insights

Identity and Self-Discovery

Throughout "Chosen at Nightfall," Kylie grapples with questions about her true identity. She must confront her past, embrace her unique abilities, and accept herself for who she truly is. The journey of self-discovery is a central theme, highlighting the importance of embracing one's true self and finding strength in individuality.

Love and Relationships

The love triangle between Kylie, Derek, and Lucas explores the complexities of teenage relationships and the challenges of choosing between two people you care deeply about. It delves into themes of loyalty, trust, and the power of love in shaping one's decisions and actions.

Good vs. Evil

The battle between good and evil serves as a backdrop for the story, highlighting the importance of standing up against injustice and fighting for what is right. It emphasizes the power of unity and the strength that can be found in friendship and loyalty.

Reader's Takeaway

"Chosen at Nightfall" is a captivating conclusion to the "Shadow Falls" series, offering an engaging mix of romance, mystery, and supernatural elements. The book's exploration of identity, love, and the battle between good and evil resonates with readers of all ages. It leaves readers with a sense of empowerment and the belief that embracing one's true self can lead to extraordinary outcomes.


C.C. Hunter's "Chosen at Nightfall" brings the "Shadow Falls" series to an exhilarating and satisfying conclusion. With its well-developed characters, intricate plot twists, and exploration of themes like identity and love, this book is sure to captivate readers who enjoy paranormal romance and coming-of-age stories. The final installment delivers an emotional and action-packed journey that will leave readers eagerly turning the pages until the very end.

Chosen at Nightfall FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    The genre of 'Chosen at Nightfall' is young adult fiction with elements of fantasy and romance.

  2. Is 'Chosen at Nightfall' part of a series?

    'Chosen at Nightfall' is the fifth and final book in the Shadow Falls series.

  3. Do I need to read the previous books in the series to understand 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    It is recommended to read the previous books in the Shadow Falls series to fully understand the characters and their relationships, as well as the overall story arc.

  4. What is the main premise of 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    'Chosen at Nightfall' follows the story of Kylie Galen, a teenager with supernatural abilities, as she faces a dangerous enemy and struggles to uncover the truth about her own identity.

  5. Who is the author of 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    'Chosen at Nightfall' is written by C.C. Hunter.

  6. Is 'Chosen at Nightfall' suitable for young adult readers?

    Yes, 'Chosen at Nightfall' is specifically targeted towards young adult readers due to its themes and content.

  7. Are there any romantic elements in 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    Yes, 'Chosen at Nightfall' includes romantic elements as part of its storyline.

  8. Is 'Chosen at Nightfall' a standalone novel or does it require reading the entire series?

    'Chosen at Nightfall' is not a standalone novel and is best enjoyed after reading the previous books in the Shadow Falls series.

  9. Where can I purchase 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    You can purchase 'Chosen at Nightfall' from various online retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Book Depository, as well as from local bookstores.

  10. Is there a movie adaptation of 'Chosen at Nightfall'?

    As of now, there is no movie adaptation of 'Chosen at Nightfall'.