Estimated read time: 6 min read

One Sentence Summary

A teenage girl with supernatural powers must fulfill her destiny and prevent an ancient prophecy from coming true.


In "Circle of Fire" by Michelle Zink, readers are taken on a thrilling journey through a world filled with magic, ancient prophecies, and a battle between good and evil. Set in the late 19th century, this young adult fantasy novel follows the adventures of a young girl named Gwen, who discovers that she is part of an ancient sisterhood tasked with protecting the world from the forces of darkness. As Gwen embarks on her journey, she must navigate treacherous landscapes, face dangerous enemies, and uncover the truth about her own destiny.

Brief Synopsis

"Circle of Fire" is set in a world where the balance between light and dark is delicately maintained by a group of women known as the Guardians. Gwen, a sixteen-year-old girl living in a small village, is thrust into this world when she discovers that she is the last descendant of a powerful Guardian. With the help of her newfound powers and the guidance of her mentor, Gwen must embrace her destiny and confront the Circle of Fire, a group of dark sorcerers intent on unleashing chaos and destruction upon the world.

Main Characters

Character NameDescription
GwenThe protagonist of the story, Gwen is a determined and courageous young girl who discovers her role as a Guardian. She is determined to protect the world from the forces of darkness.
RoseRose is Gwen's mentor and a seasoned Guardian. She guides Gwen in her journey and imparts her knowledge and wisdom to her.
AlistairAlistair is a mysterious and enigmatic character who becomes Gwen's ally. He possesses magical abilities and assists Gwen in her battle against the Circle of Fire.
EvelynEvelyn is Gwen's best friend and provides emotional support throughout the story.

Summary of Different Story Points

Chapter 1-5: The Awakening

In the opening chapters, Gwen's quiet life is turned upside down when she discovers a hidden artifact that reveals her true identity as a Guardian. She meets Rose, who becomes her mentor and begins teaching her about her powers and responsibilities. Gwen learns about the prophecy that foretells the rise of the Circle of Fire and feels a sense of urgency to prevent their plans from coming to fruition.

Chapter 6-10: Training and Discoveries

Gwen undergoes rigorous training with Rose to develop her magical abilities. Along the way, she discovers a hidden library that contains ancient texts and spells that could aid her in her quest. Alistair, a mysterious stranger, enters Gwen's life and offers his assistance, revealing that he too has a connection to the Guardians.

Chapter 11-15: The Hunt for Artifacts

Gwen, Rose, and Alistair embark on a quest to find powerful artifacts that can aid them in their fight against the Circle of Fire. They face numerous challenges and encounters with dark creatures, testing their strength and determination. Along the way, Gwen learns more about her own family history and the sacrifices made by previous Guardians.

Chapter 16-20: The Battle Begins

As the Circle of Fire grows stronger, Gwen and her allies must prepare for an impending battle. They gather allies and resources, strategizing their approach to stop the Circle of Fire's plans. The tension rises as they uncover the Circle of Fire's true intentions and realize the magnitude of the threat they face.

Chapter 21-25: The Final Confrontation

Gwen and her allies engage in an epic battle against the Circle of Fire. They face powerful sorcerers and dark magic, using their combined strength and determination to protect the world. As the battle reaches its climax, Gwen must confront her own fears and doubts, tapping into her newfound powers to defeat the Circle of Fire once and for all.

Main Events

  1. Gwen discovers her true identity as a Guardian and meets Rose, her mentor.
  2. Gwen undergoes training to develop her magical abilities.
  3. Gwen, Rose, and Alistair embark on a quest to find powerful artifacts.
  4. The Circle of Fire grows stronger, and Gwen and her allies prepare for battle.
  5. An epic final confrontation takes place between Gwen's group and the Circle of Fire.

Themes and Insights

The Power of Destiny

"Circle of Fire" explores the theme of destiny and the power it holds over individuals. Gwen is thrust into a world she never knew existed and must grapple with her role as a Guardian. Throughout the story, she learns to embrace her destiny and taps into her true potential, discovering the strength within herself.

Good vs. Evil

The battle between good and evil is a prominent theme in the novel. The Circle of Fire represents darkness, chaos, and destruction, while the Guardians stand for light, balance, and protection. The story highlights the importance of standing up against evil and the sacrifices necessary to protect what is right.

Self-Discovery and Identity

Gwen's journey is one of self-discovery and identity. As she learns about her role as a Guardian, she also uncovers secrets about her own family history and the sacrifices made by previous Guardians. This exploration of identity adds depth to the story and allows readers to connect with Gwen's personal growth.

Reader's Takeaway

"Circle of Fire" is an engaging and thrilling young adult fantasy novel that takes readers on an epic adventure filled with magic, danger, and self-discovery. The book explores themes of destiny, good versus evil, and the power of self-belief. Michelle Zink's writing brings the world of the Guardians to life, captivating readers from start to finish.


"Circle of Fire" by Michelle Zink is a must-read for fans of young adult fantasy novels. With its compelling plot, well-developed characters, and themes that resonate, this book will leave readers eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series. Zink's storytelling ability shines through as she immerses readers in a world of magic and prophecies, creating a captivating reading experience.

Circle of Fire FAQ

  1. What is 'Circle of Fire' about?

    'Circle of Fire' is a fantasy novel that follows the story of sixteen-year-old Cassandra, who discovers that she is a member of a secret society of women known as the Circle of Twelve. She must embrace her powers and protect a sacred relic from falling into the wrong hands.

  2. Who is the author of 'Circle of Fire'?

    'Circle of Fire' is written by Michelle Zink.

  3. Is 'Circle of Fire' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Circle of Fire' is the first book in the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy.

  4. What is the reading level of 'Circle of Fire'?

    'Circle of Fire' is recommended for readers aged 14 and above.

  5. Are there any sequels to 'Circle of Fire'?

    Yes, 'Circle of Fire' is followed by 'Circle of Ice' and 'Circle of Death' in the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy.

  6. Where can I purchase 'Circle of Fire'?

    'Circle of Fire' is available for purchase at major book retailers, online platforms, and as an ebook.

  7. Is 'Circle of Fire' suitable for young adult readers?

    Yes, 'Circle of Fire' is a young adult fantasy novel that is suitable for readers in that age group.

  8. Are there any romantic elements in 'Circle of Fire'?

    Yes, 'Circle of Fire' includes romantic elements as part of the overall story.

  9. Is 'Circle of Fire' a standalone novel or does it end on a cliffhanger?

    'Circle of Fire' is the first book in a trilogy, so it does end on a cliffhanger that leads into the subsequent books.

  10. Does 'Circle of Fire' contain magic or supernatural elements?

    Yes, 'Circle of Fire' features magic, supernatural powers, and a secret society.