Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

In "Clockwork Prince" by Cassandra Clare, Tessa Gray finds herself torn between two Shadowhunters while a mysterious threat looms over their London Institute.


In "Clockwork Prince" by Cassandra Clare, the second book in The Infernal Devices trilogy, readers are once again transported to the enchanting world of Shadowhunters. Set in Victorian London, this thrilling fantasy novel continues the story of Tessa Gray, a young woman with a mysterious power, and the Shadowhunters who protect humanity from supernatural threats. Filled with action, romance, and intricate plot twists, "Clockwork Prince" takes readers on a captivating journey through a world where danger lurks at every corner.

Brief Synopsis

The story picks up where the previous book, "Clockwork Angel," left off. Tessa Gray has discovered her true identity as a warlock and continues to navigate the treacherous world of the Shadowhunters. The London Institute, the home of the Shadowhunters, is under threat as the Consul questions its loyalty and effectiveness. In the midst of this turmoil, Tessa finds herself torn between her feelings for two Shadowhunters: the brooding and mysterious Will Herondale and the kind and dependable Jem Carstairs.

As Tessa tries to uncover the truth about her past and the mysterious Magister who seeks to control her powers, she becomes entangled in a dangerous game of betrayal and deceit. With the clock ticking and secrets unraveling, Tessa must make difficult choices that will shape the fate of the Shadowhunters and her own destiny.

Main Characters

Character NameDescription
Tessa GrayThe protagonist, a young warlock with the power to change shape
Will HerondaleA Shadowhunter with a troubled past and a complex personality
Jem CarstairsA compassionate and loyal Shadowhunter, suffering from a devastating illness
Charlotte BranwellThe head of the London Institute, struggling to prove her leadership
Henry BranwellCharlotte's inventor husband, often caught up in his own creations

Summary of Different Story Points over Chapters

Chapter 1-5: Threats to the London Institute

  • The Consul questions the effectiveness of the London Institute and threatens to take it over.
  • Tessa discovers a secret room in the Institute containing mysterious objects.
  • Will and Jem uncover a plot to undermine the Institute's reputation.

Chapter 6-10: Love Triangle and Betrayal

  • Tessa finds herself torn between her growing feelings for Will and her deep connection with Jem.
  • A betrayal within the Institute puts the Shadowhunters in grave danger.
  • Tessa uncovers clues about her past and the true identity of the Magister.

Chapter 11-15: The Clockwork Army

  • The Magister reveals his plan to create an army of clockwork automatons.
  • Will, Jem, and Tessa race against time to stop the Magister's deadly plan.
  • The truth about Tessa's powers and her connection to the Magister is finally revealed.

Chapter 16-20: Sacrifices and Redemption

  • The London Institute faces a devastating attack by the clockwork army.
  • Tessa makes a heartbreaking decision to save her loved ones.
  • Will and Jem confront their own demons and face the consequences of their choices.

Main Events

  • The Consul's threat to the London Institute puts its future at stake.
  • Tessa's love triangle with Will and Jem intensifies, leading to emotional turmoil.
  • The Magister's plot to create a clockwork army poses a significant threat.
  • The Shadowhunters face betrayal from within their own ranks.
  • Tessa's true identity and powers are unveiled, changing everything.

Themes and Insights

Love and Sacrifice

The theme of love and sacrifice is prominent throughout "Clockwork Prince." Tessa's relationships with Will and Jem force her to make difficult choices and face heart-wrenching sacrifices. The novel explores the depths of love and the lengths one is willing to go to protect those they care about.

Identity and Self-Discovery

Tessa's journey of self-discovery continues in this book as she learns more about her true identity and the powers she possesses. The story delves into the concept of finding oneself amidst a world filled with secrets and deception.

Loyalty and Betrayal

The theme of loyalty and betrayal is explored through the events that unfold within the London Institute. Characters are tested, alliances are questioned, and the consequences of betrayal are revealed. The novel explores the complexities of trust and the devastating impact of betrayal.

Reader's Takeaway

"Clockwork Prince" is a captivating and emotionally-charged novel that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. The intricate plot, well-developed characters, and fantastical world-building make for an engrossing read. This book delves deeper into the mysteries and secrets introduced in the first installment, offering a satisfying continuation to The Infernal Devices trilogy.


In "Clockwork Prince" by Cassandra Clare, readers are immersed in a Victorian London teeming with supernatural beings and the brave Shadowhunters who protect humanity. The book explores themes of love, sacrifice, identity, and loyalty while unraveling a gripping plot filled with twists and turns. With its compelling characters and vivid setting, "Clockwork Prince" is a must-read for fans of fantasy and romance alike.

Clockwork Prince FAQ

  1. Who is the author of 'Clockwork Prince'?

    The author of 'Clockwork Prince' is Cassandra Clare.

  2. Is 'Clockwork Prince' part of a series?

    'Clockwork Prince' is the second book in 'The Infernal Devices' trilogy.

  3. What is the genre of 'Clockwork Prince'?

    'Clockwork Prince' is a young adult fantasy novel.

  4. What is the plot of 'Clockwork Prince'?

    In 'Clockwork Prince', Tessa Gray, Will Herondale, and Jem Carstairs continue their quest to uncover the secrets of their supernatural world while facing challenges and dangers.

  5. When was 'Clockwork Prince' published?

    'Clockwork Prince' was published on December 6, 2011.

  6. How many pages does 'Clockwork Prince' have?

    'Clockwork Prince' has approximately 502 pages.

  7. Can 'Clockwork Prince' be read as a standalone novel?

    It is recommended to read 'Clockwork Prince' as part of 'The Infernal Devices' trilogy in order to fully understand the story and characters.

  8. Are there any other books related to 'Clockwork Prince'?

    Yes, 'Clockwork Prince' is part of 'The Infernal Devices' trilogy, which includes 'Clockwork Angel' (book 1) and 'Clockwork Princess' (book 3).

  9. Where can I purchase 'Clockwork Prince'?

    'Clockwork Prince' can be purchased online or at your local bookstores. It is available in both physical and ebook formats.

  10. Is there a movie adaptation of 'Clockwork Prince'?

    No, there is currently no movie adaptation of 'Clockwork Prince'.