100 Cupboards
Goodreads ratings
3.78 / 5

"100 Cupboards" Summary

By N.D. Wilson

fantasy | 289 pages | Published in 2007


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A boy discovers a hidden world behind the cupboards in his ancestral home, leading to fantastical adventures and secrets.


"100 Cupboards" is a captivating fantasy novel written by N.D. Wilson. First published in 2007, the book is the first installment in a thrilling trilogy. With its intriguing storyline, vivid settings, and well-developed characters, "100 Cupboards" takes readers on an exciting journey filled with magic, mystery, and adventure.

Brief Synopsis

The story centers around a young boy named Henry York, who is sent to live with his aunt and uncle in the small town of Henry, Kansas, after his parents are kidnapped while on a research trip. Henry's life takes an unexpected turn when he discovers a hidden wall in his bedroom that is filled with one hundred magical cupboards. These cupboards act as portals to various worlds, each holding its own secrets and dangers.

As Henry begins to explore the cupboards, he uncovers a hidden power within himself and learns that his family has a mysterious and magical past. With the help of his cousin Henrietta and a new friend named Frankie, Henry embarks on a quest to uncover the truth about the cupboards and his own identity. Along the way, they encounter fantastical creatures, ancient magic, and a dark enemy who will stop at nothing to possess the power of the cupboards.

Main Characters

Henry YorkA curious and adventurous twelve-year-old boy who discovers the magical cupboards and embarks on a quest to uncover the truth about his family.
HenriettaHenry's cousin and loyal companion on his journey. She is brave, resourceful, and possesses her own unique abilities.
FrankieA local boy who becomes Henry's friend and helps him navigate the mysteries of the cupboards.
Uncle FrankHenry's uncle, who is initially skeptical but eventually becomes involved in the exploration of the cupboards.
Aunt DottyHenry's aunt, who is caring and supportive of Henry's journey.

Summary of Story Points

Chapters 1-5: Discovering the Cupboards

  • Henry arrives in Kansas and begins to explore his new home.
  • He discovers a hidden door in his bedroom that leads to a wall of magical cupboards.
  • Henry opens one of the cupboards and finds himself transported to a different world.

Chapters 6-10: Unraveling Family Secrets

  • Henry learns about his family's magical heritage and their connection to the cupboards.
  • He meets Henrietta, his cousin, and they team up to explore the cupboards together.
  • Henry and Henrietta encounter dangerous creatures and face various challenges in the different worlds.

Chapters 11-15: Confronting the Enemy

  • The trio discovers clues that lead them to believe Henry's parents may still be alive.
  • They encounter a dark enemy who seeks to possess the power of the cupboards.
  • Henry, Henrietta, and Frankie must find a way to stop the enemy and rescue Henry's parents.

Chapters 16-20: The Final Battle

  • Henry discovers his own unique powers and uses them to confront the enemy.
  • The trio battles the enemy and his minions in a thrilling and dangerous showdown.
  • Henry's parents are rescued, and the cupboards are sealed to prevent further misuse of their power.

Main Events

  • Henry discovers the magical cupboards hidden in his bedroom.
  • Henry begins to explore the different worlds accessed through the cupboards.
  • Henry learns about his family's magical heritage and his own unique abilities.
  • Henry and his friends encounter dangerous creatures and overcome various challenges.
  • The trio confronts the dark enemy and engages in a final battle to save Henry's parents.
  • The cupboards are sealed to protect their power.

Themes and Insights

  1. Identity and Heritage: The book explores the theme of discovering one's true identity and the importance of understanding one's family history.
  2. Courage and Friendship: The story emphasizes the power of courage and friendship in overcoming challenges and facing adversity.
  3. The Allure of Power: The book explores the dangers of seeking power and the consequences of its misuse.
  4. The Magic of Imagination: "100 Cupboards" celebrates the power of imagination and the wonders it can unlock.

Reader's Takeaway

"100 Cupboards" is an enchanting adventure that will captivate readers of all ages. With its engaging plot, well-crafted characters, and imaginative world-building, the book takes readers on a thrilling journey filled with magic, mystery, and self-discovery. It encourages readers to embrace their own unique abilities and to recognize the importance of family, friendship, and courage in the face of adversity.


"100 Cupboards" by N.D. Wilson is a must-read for fans of fantasy and adventure. With its compelling storyline, richly imagined worlds, and relatable characters, the book offers a thrilling and immersive reading experience. Whether you're a young reader or simply young at heart, "100 Cupboards" will transport you to a world of wonder and leave you eagerly anticipating the next installment in the trilogy.

100 Cupboards FAQ

  1. Who is the author of '100 Cupboards'?

    The author of '100 Cupboards' is N.D. Wilson.

  2. What is the genre of '100 Cupboards'?

    '100 Cupboards' is a fantasy novel.

  3. What is the main storyline of '100 Cupboards'?

    The main storyline of '100 Cupboards' follows a 12-year-old boy named Henry York who discovers that the wall of his bedroom is actually a series of magical cupboards leading to different worlds.

  4. Is '100 Cupboards' suitable for young readers?

    Yes, '100 Cupboards' is suitable for young readers, generally recommended for ages 9-12.

  5. Are there any sequels to '100 Cupboards'?

    Yes, '100 Cupboards' is the first book in a trilogy. The sequels are 'Dandelion Fire' and 'The Chestnut King'.

  6. What are some other books by N.D. Wilson?

    Some other books by N.D. Wilson include 'The Dragon's Tooth', 'The Drowned Vault', and 'Empire of Bones'.

  7. Is '100 Cupboards' part of a series?

    '100 Cupboards' is the first book in the '100 Cupboards' series.

  8. What are the reviews like for '100 Cupboards'?

    Reviews for '100 Cupboards' are generally positive, praising the imaginative world-building and engaging storytelling.

  9. Is '100 Cupboards' appropriate for adults?

    While '100 Cupboards' is primarily targeted towards young readers, it can also be enjoyed by adults who appreciate fantasy novels.

  10. Where can I purchase '100 Cupboards'?

    '100 Cupboards' can be purchased online from various retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and independent bookstores.