A Closed and Common Orbit
Goodreads ratings
4.33 / 5

"A Closed and Common Orbit" Characters Analysis

By Becky Chambers

science fiction | 365 pages | Published in 2016

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers' beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.

ISBN_13:9781473621442

Estimated read time: 5 min read

List of Characters

Character NameRole
Lovelace/SidraArtificial Intelligence
PepperEngineer
Jane/Dr. ChefScientist/Engineer
TakTechnician
BlueAI Mechanic
OwlShip's AI
JackAI Repair Technician
KizzyTechnician
KitEngineer
BadgerAI Mechanic

Role Identification

In "A Closed and Common Orbit" by Becky Chambers, there are several key characters that play important roles in the story. The main characters include Lovelace/Sidra, Pepper, Jane/Dr. Chef, Tak, Blue, Owl, Jack, Kizzy, Kit, and Badger.

Character Descriptions

Lovelace/Sidra

Lovelace, also known as Sidra, is an artificial intelligence (AI) in a humanoid body. She starts off as a ship's AI but is later transferred into a synthetic body designed to mimic a human. Lovelace/Sidra is curious, compassionate, and eager to explore the world outside of the ship.

Pepper

Pepper is an engineer who helps Sidra adjust to her new body and navigate the complexities of living among humans. She is kind-hearted, resourceful, and skilled in her craft. Pepper serves as a mentor and friend to Sidra throughout the story.

Jane/Dr. Chef

Jane, also known as Dr. Chef, is a scientist and engineer who helps Sidra understand her new body and the world around her. She is patient, knowledgeable, and deeply passionate about her work. Jane/Dr. Chef plays a crucial role in Sidra's character development and growth.

Tak

Tak is a technician who works alongside Pepper and helps with various tasks. He is diligent, hardworking, and dedicated to his work. Tak provides support and guidance to Sidra as she navigates her new life.

Blue

Blue is an AI mechanic who assists Pepper and the others in maintaining and repairing AI systems. Blue is friendly, reliable, and always willing to lend a helping hand. Blue's expertise is essential to the smooth operation of the AI systems in the story.

Owl

Owl is the ship's AI and plays a significant role in the story, even though it doesn't have a physical presence. Owl is wise, observant, and protective of its crew. Owl's guidance and support are crucial to the progression of the plot.

Jack

Jack is an AI repair technician who helps Pepper and the others with technical issues. He is knowledgeable, efficient, and has a knack for fixing complex problems. Jack's skills contribute to the advancement of the AI technology in the story.

Kizzy

Kizzy is a technician who works closely with Pepper and Tak. She is energetic, enthusiastic, and always eager to learn new things. Kizzy's enthusiasm brings a sense of joy and optimism to the story.

Kit

Kit is an engineer who joins the group later in the story. She is intelligent, resourceful, and passionate about her work. Kit's expertise and unique perspective contribute to the overall development of the AI technology.

Badger

Badger is an AI mechanic who helps maintain and repair AI systems. He is diligent, meticulous, and takes pride in his work. Badger's attention to detail ensures the smooth operation of the AI technology.

Character Traits

Lovelace/Sidra is characterized by her curiosity, compassion, and desire for exploration. Pepper is known for her kindness, resourcefulness, and technical skills. Jane/Dr. Chef is patient, knowledgeable, and passionate about her work. Tak is diligent, hardworking, and dedicated. Blue is friendly, reliable, and helpful. Owl is wise, observant, and protective. Jack is knowledgeable, efficient, and skilled in AI repair. Kizzy is energetic, enthusiastic, and eager to learn. Kit is intelligent, resourceful, and passionate about her work. Badger is diligent, meticulous, and takes pride in his work.

Character Background

Lovelace/Sidra starts as a ship's AI but is transferred into a synthetic body after the ship is decommissioned. Pepper, Jane/Dr. Chef, Tak, Blue, Owl, Jack, Kizzy, Kit, and Badger are part of a close-knit community that works together to maintain and repair AI systems. They live in a world where AI technology is integrated into everyday life, and their expertise is crucial to keeping the technology functioning smoothly.

Character Arcs

Lovelace/Sidra undergoes a significant transformation throughout the story. Initially, she is confined to the ship's AI, but her transfer into a synthetic body allows her to experience the world in a new way. She learns to navigate human emotions, form relationships, and embrace her own identity. Pepper, Jane/Dr. Chef, Tak, Blue, Owl, Jack, Kizzy, Kit, and Badger also experience personal growth and development as they navigate the challenges of their work and relationships.

Relationships

The relationships between the characters in "A Closed and Common Orbit" are crucial to the story's development. Lovelace/Sidra forms a strong bond with Pepper, who becomes her mentor and guide in understanding her new body and emotions. Jane/Dr. Chef and Tak provide support and guidance to both Lovelace/Sidra and Pepper. Blue, Owl, Jack, Kizzy, Kit, and Badger form a tight-knit community that works together to maintain and repair AI systems. Their relationships are built on trust, mutual respect, and a shared passion for their work.

Overall, "A Closed and Common Orbit" explores the complexities of AI technology and its impact on individuals and society. The diverse cast of characters, including Lovelace/Sidra, Pepper, Jane/Dr. Chef, Tak, Blue, Owl, Jack, Kizzy, Kit, and Badger, each contribute to the rich world-building and character development within the story.