A Court of Wings and Ruin
Goodreads ratings
4.44 / 5

"A Court of Wings and Ruin" Summary

By Sarah J. Maas

fantasy | 699 pages | Published in 2017

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places. In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

Feyre faces the ultimate battle to save her world in this thrilling conclusion to the "A Court of Thorns and Roses" series.


"A Court of Wings and Ruin" is a thrilling fantasy novel by Sarah J. Maas. It is the third installment in the "A Court of Thorns and Roses" series and continues the story of Feyre Archeron, a mortal turned High Fae, as she navigates the dangerous and complex world of the faerie courts. Packed with political intrigue, romance, and epic battles, the book takes readers on a gripping journey through the magical land of Prythian.

Brief Synopsis

Plot Overview

"A Court of Wings and Ruin" picks up where the previous book left off, with Feyre back at the Spring Court and planning to gather information to aid the Night Court in the upcoming war against the evil King of Hybern. As she works to unravel the plans of the enemy, she faces challenges that test her strength, loyalty, and love. The story is filled with action, deception, and alliances that keep readers on the edge of their seats.


The story is primarily set in the enchanting and treacherous land of Prythian, a world divided into different faerie courts, each with its unique customs, rulers, and magical inhabitants. From the lush beauty of the Spring Court to the dark and mysterious Night Court, the vividly described settings immerse the readers in a rich and fantastical realm.

Main Characters

Below are the main characters in "A Court of Wings and Ruin" along with brief descriptions of each:

Feyre ArcheronThe protagonist, a mortal turned High Fae with a fierce determination and unwavering loyalty to her loved ones.
RhysandThe powerful High Lord of the Night Court, Feyre's mate, and a charismatic leader with a complex past and a deep love for Feyre.
TamlinThe High Lord of the Spring Court, Feyre's former love interest, and a character struggling with his inner demons and regrets.
Nesta ArcheronFeyre's strong-willed and protective older sister, who is grappling with her own emotional turmoil.
Lucien VanserraA member of the Night Court, torn between his loyalty to Tamlin and his growing bond with Feyre.

Story Points Over Chapters

Chapters 1-5:

Feyre strategizes and gathers intelligence at the Spring Court, facing emotional turmoil as she confronts her past and her strained relationship with Tamlin.

Chapters 6-10:

Feyre returns to the Night Court, where she and Rhysand prepare for the impending war, forming alliances and training their forces.

Chapters 11-15:

The plans for the war intensify as Feyre delves deeper into the political machinations of the enemy, while also strengthening her bond with Rhysand.

Chapters 16-20:

Secrets from the past are revealed, alliances are tested, and the impending threat of war looms larger, leading to high-stakes confrontations.

Chapters 21-25:

The battle against King of Hybern's forces begins, with shocking betrayals, sacrifices, and displays of courage that shape the fate of Prythian.

Chapters 26-30:

The aftermath of the war brings about healing, forgiveness, and new beginnings for the characters as they come to terms with the profound changes in their world.

Main Events

  • Feyre's return to the Spring Court and her covert efforts to gather intelligence.
  • The formation of alliances and battle preparations in the Night Court.
  • Revelations about the King of Hybern's sinister plans and the impending war.
  • The epic battle scenes and the sacrifices made by the characters.
  • The aftermath of the war and the beginning of the healing process for Prythian and its inhabitants.

Themes and Insights


  1. War and Sacrifice: The novel explores the devastating impact of war and the sacrifices made by individuals for the greater good.
  2. Love and Loyalty: The enduring bonds of love and loyalty are central themes, as characters navigate their relationships amidst turmoil.
  3. Power and Politics: Intrigue and power struggles within and between the faerie courts drive much of the plot, highlighting the complexities of political maneuvering.


The story provides insights into the resilience of the human spirit, the capacity for forgiveness, and the strength found in unity and solidarity.

Reader's Takeaway

Readers of "A Court of Wings and Ruin" will be captivated by the intricate world-building, the high-stakes drama, and the deeply emotional character development. The novel offers a compelling exploration of love, sacrifice, and the indomitable spirit of its characters in the face of overwhelming adversity.


In conclusion, "A Court of Wings and Ruin" is a spellbinding continuation of the "A Court of Thorns and Roses" series, delivering a riveting blend of fantasy, romance, and political intrigue. With its richly imagined world and compelling characters, the book is sure to enthrall fans of epic fantasy and leave them eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series.

A Court of Wings and Ruin FAQ

  1. What is the genre of A Court of Wings and Ruin?

    A Court of Wings and Ruin is a fantasy novel with elements of romance and adventure.

  2. Is A Court of Wings and Ruin suitable for young adult readers?

    The book is classified as young adult fantasy and is suitable for readers in that age group.

  3. Is A Court of Wings and Ruin part of a series?

    Yes, it is the third installment in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas.

  4. Can A Court of Wings and Ruin be read as a standalone novel?

    It is recommended to read the previous books in the series to fully understand the plot and characters.

  5. What is the main theme of A Court of Wings and Ruin?

    The book explores themes of war, loyalty, sacrifice, and the power of love and friendship.