Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

Sophie and her friends embark on a dangerous quest through the past and future in order to save the School for Good and Evil.


"A Crystal of Time" is the fifth book in the "School for Good and Evil" series, written by Soman Chainani. This fantasy novel continues the captivating tale of Sophie and Agatha, two best friends who have been chosen to attend the School for Good and Evil. In this installment, the girls find themselves separated and facing new challenges as they navigate a world filled with magic, witches, and fairy tales.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in the magical land of the Endless Woods, where the School for Good and Evil resides. Sophie, a beautiful girl with a penchant for evil, and Agatha, a plain girl with a heart of gold, have always been inseparable. But in "A Crystal of Time," their friendship is put to the test.

The book opens with Sophie and Agatha being forcibly separated, as the School Master believes they are influencing each other in negative ways. Sophie is sent to the School for Good, while Agatha is sent to the School for Evil. This sudden separation leaves the girls feeling lost and betrayed.

As Sophie tries to fit into the world of Good, she discovers that her true love, Tedros, is missing. Believing that he has been kidnapped, Sophie embarks on a dangerous journey to rescue him. Along the way, she encounters various challenges and meets new allies and enemies.

On the other hand, Agatha, in the School for Evil, is determined to find a way to reunite with Sophie. With the help of her loyal friend, Tedros, and the enigmatic School Master, Agatha uncovers a dark secret that could change everything.

Main Characters

Character NameDescription
SophieA beautiful and ambitious girl who has always dreamed of being a princess.
AgathaA plain and kind-hearted girl who is fiercely loyal to Sophie.
TedrosThe prince of Camelot and Sophie's true love.
School MasterThe mysterious and powerful headmaster of the School for Good and Evil.

Summary of Story Points over Chapters

Chapter 1: The Separation

  • Sophie and Agatha are separated and sent to different schools.
  • Sophie is determined to find Tedros, believing he has been kidnapped.

Chapter 2: The School for Good

  • Sophie struggles to fit in at the School for Good.
  • She befriends a group of girls who are determined to achieve their happily ever afters.

Chapter 3: The School for Evil

  • Agatha discovers a hidden power within herself.
  • She forms an unlikely alliance with the School Master.

Chapter 4: The Enchanted Forest

  • Sophie embarks on a dangerous journey through the Enchanted Forest.
  • She encounters mythical creatures and faces life-threatening challenges.

Chapter 5: The Dark Secret

  • Agatha uncovers a dark secret about the true nature of the schools.
  • She realizes that the separation of Sophie and herself was not a coincidence.

Chapter 6: The Final Showdown

  • Sophie and Agatha reunite and join forces to confront the School Master.
  • They must use their newfound powers to save their friends and the world they know.

Main Events

  • Sophie and Agatha's separation and their struggles in their respective schools.
  • Sophie's journey through the Enchanted Forest to find Tedros.
  • Agatha's discovery of her hidden power and alliance with the School Master.
  • The revelation of a dark secret about the true nature of the schools.
  • The final showdown between Sophie, Agatha, and the School Master.

Themes and Insights

  1. Friendship and loyalty: The book explores the strength of Sophie and Agatha's friendship, as well as the challenges they face when separated. It highlights the importance of loyalty and staying true to oneself.
  2. Good vs. evil: The story delves into the complexities of good and evil, challenging traditional notions and questioning the nature of morality.
  3. Identity and self-discovery: Both Sophie and Agatha embark on journeys of self-discovery, grappling with their own identities and questioning their place in the world.
  4. Power and corruption: The book explores the corrupting influence of power and the consequences of unchecked ambition.

Reader's Takeaway

"A Crystal of Time" is a thrilling continuation of the "School for Good and Evil" series, filled with magic, adventure, and unexpected twists. Readers will be captivated by the intricate world-building, complex characters, and thought-provoking themes. This book reminds us of the importance of friendship, staying true to oneself, and the complexities of good and evil. It is a must-read for fans of fantasy and fairy tales.


"A Crystal of Time" takes readers on a thrilling journey through the magical world of the School for Good and Evil. Sophie and Agatha's separation and subsequent challenges keep readers engaged, while the exploration of friendship, identity, and power adds depth to the story. Soman Chainani's vivid storytelling and imaginative world-building make this book a compelling read for both young adults and adults alike.

A Crystal of Time FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'A Crystal of Time'?

    'A Crystal of Time' is a fantasy novel.

  2. Is 'A Crystal of Time' part of a series?

    Yes, 'A Crystal of Time' is the fifth book in 'The School for Good and Evil' series.

  3. Do I need to read the previous books in the series to understand 'A Crystal of Time'?

    It is recommended to read the previous books in the series to fully understand the story and characters in 'A Crystal of Time'.

  4. Who is the author of 'A Crystal of Time'?

    'A Crystal of Time' is written by Soman Chainani.

  5. What is the main plot of 'A Crystal of Time'?

    In 'A Crystal of Time', Sophie and Agatha must travel through time to save Camelot and confront their greatest fears.

  6. Are there any new characters introduced in 'A Crystal of Time'?

    Yes, 'A Crystal of Time' introduces new characters along with the familiar ones from the previous books.

  7. What age group is 'A Crystal of Time' suitable for?

    'A Crystal of Time' is suitable for young adult readers, generally recommended for ages 12 and up.

  8. Is 'A Crystal of Time' a standalone novel?

    No, 'A Crystal of Time' is part of a series and is best read in the context of the full story.

  9. Where can I purchase 'A Crystal of Time'?

    'A Crystal of Time' can be purchased online through various retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and the author's official website.

  10. Does 'A Crystal of Time' have a cliffhanger ending?

    Without giving away spoilers, 'A Crystal of Time' does leave some unresolved elements that will be addressed in the next book of the series.