Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A girl discovers she can time travel and must navigate the perils of the past while trying to maintain her present-day life.

Blast from the Past by Meg Cabot


"Blast from the Past" is a delightful contemporary fiction novel written by Meg Cabot. Known for her engaging storytelling and relatable characters, Cabot takes readers on a journey filled with humor, romance, and self-discovery. This book is the perfect choice for anyone looking for a light-hearted and entertaining read.

Brief Synopsis:

The story is set in the charming town of Little Bridge, where the protagonist, Mallory Ames, leads a seemingly ordinary life. However, her life takes an unexpected turn when her ex-boyfriend, Jake Strickland, returns to town after ten years. Mallory is faced with a blast from the past as she is forced to confront her unresolved feelings for Jake and navigate the complexities of their relationship.

Plot Overview and Setting:

Set in the picturesque town of Little Bridge, the story revolves around Mallory Ames, a talented artist who runs the family business, a wedding planning company. Mallory's life is turned upside down when her ex-boyfriend, Jake Strickland, returns to town. The once inseparable couple had a bitter breakup ten years ago, and Mallory has since moved on with her life.

As Jake reenters Mallory's life, old memories resurface, and Mallory finds herself questioning her past decisions. She must confront her feelings for Jake and decide whether to give their relationship another chance or move on.

Main Characters:

Character NameDescription
Mallory AmesProtagonist, talented artist, runs a wedding planning company
Jake StricklandMallory's ex-boyfriend, returns to town after ten years
EmmaMallory's best friend, provides support and advice
SadieMallory's sister, adds humor to the story

Summary of Different Story Points over Chapters:

Chapter 1-5: Reunion and Resurfaced Feelings

Mallory is taken by surprise when Jake returns to Little Bridge after a decade. As they cross paths, old feelings resurface, and Mallory finds herself questioning whether she has truly moved on. She seeks advice from her best friend, Emma, who encourages her to explore her emotions and confront Jake.

Chapter 6-10: Rediscovering Love and Second Chances

Mallory and Jake spend more time together, rekindling their friendship and rediscovering the love they once shared. They reminisce about their past and reflect on the reasons behind their breakup. Mallory begins to wonder if giving Jake a second chance is worth the risk.

Chapter 11-15: Facing Challenges and Doubts

As Mallory and Jake grow closer, they face challenges and doubts that threaten to derail their progress. Mallory's insecurities resurface, making her question whether she can trust Jake again. The couple must confront their past mistakes and decide if they are willing to overcome their challenges for a chance at happiness.

Chapter 16-20: Resolving Conflict and Moving Forward

Mallory and Jake confront their unresolved issues and communicate openly about their fears and insecurities. They work through their conflicts, realizing the importance of forgiveness and understanding. Mallory learns to let go of her past and embrace the possibility of a future with Jake.

Main Events:

  1. Jake's unexpected return to Little Bridge after ten years.
  2. Mallory's internal struggle as she confronts her unresolved feelings for Jake.
  3. Mallory and Jake's journey of rediscovering their love and exploring a second chance.
  4. The challenges and doubts that threaten to derail Mallory and Jake's progress.
  5. The resolution of conflict and the realization of the importance of forgiveness and understanding.

Themes and Insights:

  • Second Chances: The novel explores the theme of second chances in relationships, highlighting the importance of forgiveness and growth.
  • Self-Discovery: Mallory's journey of self-discovery and reflection encourages readers to examine their own lives and relationships.
  • Communication and Trust: The story emphasizes the significance of open and honest communication as the foundation of a healthy relationship.
  • Letting Go of the Past: Mallory's struggle to let go of her past and embrace the possibility of a future with Jake serves as a powerful reminder of the importance of moving forward.

Reader's Takeaway:

"Blast from the Past" is a heartwarming and entertaining novel that explores the complexities of love, forgiveness, and self-discovery. Meg Cabot's engaging storytelling and relatable characters make this book a delightful read for anyone seeking a story filled with humor, romance, and personal growth.


In "Blast from the Past," Meg Cabot takes readers on a journey of rediscovering love and second chances. Through Mallory and Jake's story, readers are reminded of the importance of forgiveness, communication, and letting go of the past. This contemporary fiction novel is a captivating and enjoyable read that will leave readers feeling uplifted and inspired.

Blast from the Past FAQ

  1. What is 'Blast from the Past' about?

    'Blast from the Past' is a book about a girl named Reed Brennan who discovers a shocking secret about her past that changes everything she thought she knew about herself.

  2. Who is the author of 'Blast from the Past'?

    The author of 'Blast from the Past' is Meg Cabot.

  3. Is 'Blast from the Past' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Blast from the Past' is the tenth book in the 'Private' series by Meg Cabot.

  4. Do I need to read the previous books in the series to understand 'Blast from the Past'?

    While 'Blast from the Past' is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone novel. However, reading the previous books in the 'Private' series may provide additional context and background information.

  5. What genre does 'Blast from the Past' belong to?

    'Blast from the Past' is a young adult mystery novel.

  6. How many pages does 'Blast from the Past' have?

    'Blast from the Past' has approximately 320 pages.

  7. Is 'Blast from the Past' suitable for all ages?

    'Blast from the Past' is recommended for readers aged 13 and above, as it contains mature themes and content.

  8. Where can I purchase 'Blast from the Past'?

    'Blast from the Past' can be purchased from various online retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Book Depository, as well as in physical bookstores.

  9. Are there any other books by Meg Cabot that are similar to 'Blast from the Past'?

    Yes, Meg Cabot has written several other books in the 'Private' series, as well as other young adult mystery novels such as 'Shadowland' and 'Haunted'.

  10. Has 'Blast from the Past' received any awards or recognition?

    While 'Blast from the Past' may not have received any specific awards, Meg Cabot is a well-known and bestselling author, and her books have garnered a loyal fan base and positive reviews.