Goodreads ratings
3.76 / 5

"Clarity" Summary

By Loretta Lost

romance | 162 pages | Published in NaN

Her world has always been dark, but he might be able to change everything... Fiercely independent Helen Winters was born completely blind, but she vowed never to let her disability keep her down. She did not expect a traumatic event to devastate her life and force her to drop out of college. Disillusioned by the cruelty of people, Helen retreated from society to live by herself as a reclusive writer in the woods--where no one could ever hurt her again.When a brilliant young doctor shows up on her doorstep, promising her that his new research can give her the ability to see for the first time, Helen stubbornly refuses. She has learned not to trust anyone, and to rely only on herself. But Dr. Liam Larson will not take no for an answer. He makes it his personal mission to rescue Helen from her loneliness, and bring joy into her world once more--the joy she has denied herself for so long.When Helen's demons come racing back into her life, threatening to rip her apart and destroy the strength she has carefully rebuilt, Liam is the only one who might be able to save her. Can he reach the broken girl in time, helping her to heal and see the world in a different light? Or will Helen's grief send her spiraling out of control, lost to him forever?**********This is the first book of a three-part series.**********


Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young woman with amnesia struggles to uncover her past and find her true identity.


In "Clarity" by Loretta Lost, readers are taken on a gripping journey of mystery, love, and self-discovery. This thrilling novel follows the life of a young woman named Helen Winters, who wakes up in a hospital bed with no memory of her past. As Helen struggles to regain her memories, she must navigate a web of secrets, deceit, and unexpected twists that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in the present day in a small coastal town called Port Snow. Helen, the protagonist, wakes up in a hospital bed with no recollection of who she is or how she ended up there. She discovers that she has been in a coma for six months and has retrograde amnesia, which means she has lost her memory of the past.

As Helen tries to piece together her identity, she meets Liam, a kind and supportive doctor who becomes her confidante. With Liam's help, she starts to uncover fragments of her past and realizes that she was in an abusive relationship with a man named David. Determined to regain her memories and find out what happened to her, Helen embarks on a journey of self-discovery.

Main Characters

Helen WintersThe protagonist who wakes up with amnesia and tries to uncover her past.
Liam LarsonA doctor who helps Helen in her quest to regain her memories.
DavidHelen's ex-boyfriend who is revealed to be abusive.
Dr. BennettHelen's psychiatrist who aids in her recovery.

Summary of Different Story Points Over Chapters

Chapter 1-5: The Awakening

Helen wakes up in the hospital and meets Dr. Larson, who informs her about her amnesia. She struggles to cope with her new reality and begins to question the people around her. She starts therapy sessions with Dr. Bennett, hoping to recover her memories.

Chapter 6-10: Fragments of the Past

Helen starts to have brief flashes of memories, which hint at a troubled past. She meets a mysterious woman named Mary, who claims to know her but refuses to reveal anything about their relationship. Helen becomes determined to uncover the truth and confronts Mary.

Chapter 11-15: Unveiling Secrets

Helen discovers evidence of her abusive relationship with David through hidden journals and photographs. She confronts David, who becomes increasingly aggressive and threatens her. Helen realizes the extent of the danger she is in and seeks help from Dr. Larson and the police.

Chapter 16-20: The Truth Revealed

Helen's memories start to resurface, and she remembers the traumatic events that led to her amnesia. She confronts her past and finds the strength to break free from the cycle of abuse. With the support of Dr. Larson and her newfound clarity, Helen begins to rebuild her life.

Main Events

  1. Helen wakes up in the hospital with amnesia.
  2. She meets Dr. Larson, who becomes her ally in her journey to regain her memories.
  3. Helen uncovers fragments of her past and realizes she was in an abusive relationship with David.
  4. She confronts David and seeks help from the police.
  5. Helen's memories resurface, and she confronts her past traumas.
  6. With the support of Dr. Larson, Helen starts rebuilding her life and finding her true self.

Themes and Insights

"Clarity" explores several important themes, including:

  1. Identity and Self-Discovery: The novel delves into the journey of self-discovery as Helen tries to uncover her true identity and find her place in the world.
  2. Abuse and Trauma: The story sheds light on the harrowing effects of abuse and the importance of breaking free from toxic relationships.
  3. Resilience and Healing: Through Helen's journey, readers witness the power of resilience and the healing process that comes with confronting one's past.

Reader's Takeaway

"Clarity" is a gripping and emotionally charged novel that keeps readers captivated from beginning to end. It offers a thought-provoking exploration of identity, abuse, and healing. Loretta Lost's skillful storytelling and well-developed characters make this book a must-read for fans of psychological thrillers and emotional dramas.


"Clarity" by Loretta Lost takes readers on a thrilling and emotional journey as Helen Winters navigates the challenges of amnesia and unravels the secrets of her past. With its compelling plot, well-drawn characters, and powerful themes, this novel leaves a lasting impression and provides readers with a deep sense of satisfaction and reflection.

Clarity FAQ

  1. What is 'Clarity' about?

    'Clarity' is a psychological thriller novel that follows the story of Clarity, a young woman who wakes up in a hospital with no memory of her past. As she tries to uncover her identity, she realizes that she is being hunted by dangerous individuals.

  2. Who is the author of 'Clarity'?

    The author of 'Clarity' is Loretta Lost.

  3. Is 'Clarity' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Clarity' is the first book in 'The Clarity Series'. There are multiple books in the series that continue the story of Clarity and her journey to discover the truth about her past.

  4. What genre does 'Clarity' belong to?

    'Clarity' belongs to the psychological thriller genre.

  5. Are there any trigger warnings for 'Clarity'?

    Yes, 'Clarity' contains themes of violence, trauma, and psychological manipulation. Readers who are sensitive to such themes may find it distressing.

  6. Where can I purchase 'Clarity'?

    'Clarity' can be purchased online from various retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Book Depository. It is available in both paperback and ebook formats.

  7. How long is 'Clarity'?

    'Clarity' has approximately 300 pages.

  8. Is 'Clarity' suitable for young readers?

    'Clarity' is intended for mature audiences due to its content. It is not recommended for young readers.

  9. Are there any sequels to 'Clarity'?

    Yes, there are several sequels to 'Clarity' in 'The Clarity Series'. These books continue the story and further explore the mysteries surrounding Clarity's past.

  10. Does 'Clarity' have a satisfying ending?

    While 'Clarity' sets up the story for the subsequent books in the series, it does provide a satisfying conclusion to the initial plotlines introduced in the book.