Estimated read time: 5 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young vampire girl faces betrayal and danger as she navigates a world of supernatural politics and romance.


In "Betrayed," the first book of the "Vampire Journals" series, author Morgan Rice takes readers on an enthralling journey into a world of vampires, romance, and danger. This gripping paranormal fantasy novel introduces us to Caitlin Paine, a young girl who discovers that she is the Chosen One, destined to become a powerful vampire.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in present-day New York, where Caitlin Paine, a seventeen-year-old girl, lives a life of hardship. After the tragic death of her mother, Caitlin is left to take care of her younger brother, Sam, and their alcoholic father. One evening, while walking home from work, Caitlin is attacked by a group of men and is saved by Caleb, a mysterious and attractive stranger.

Caleb reveals to Caitlin that she is not an ordinary girl but a Chosen One, chosen by destiny to become a vampire. He explains that she possesses unique powers and must embrace her destiny to protect humanity from the evil vampires that threaten to destroy the world. Reluctantly, Caitlin agrees to join Caleb and his vampire clan, training to become a warrior against the forces of darkness.

As Caitlin delves deeper into her new life, she discovers secrets about her own past and the true nature of her powers. Along the way, she forms a deep connection with Caleb and finds herself torn between her love for him and her loyalty to her human family. As the battle against the evil vampires intensifies, Caitlin must make difficult choices that will shape her destiny and determine the fate of the world.

Main Characters

CaitlinSeventeen-year-old girl who discovers she is the Chosen One
CalebMysterious and attractive vampire who saves Caitlin
SamCaitlin's younger brother, whom she must protect
Caitlin's FatherAlcoholic and troubled man who struggles with his own demons

Summary of Different Story Points

Chapters 1-5: The Awakening

  • Caitlin's encounter with the group of men and her rescue by Caleb.
  • Caleb reveals Caitlin's destiny as the Chosen One.
  • Caitlin's decision to join Caleb's vampire clan and begin her training.
  • Introduction of other members of the vampire clan.
  • Caitlin's first encounter with the evil vampires and her realization of the danger they pose.

Chapters 6-10: Training and Secrets

  • Caitlin's intense training sessions and her struggle to control her newfound powers.
  • Caleb and Caitlin's growing bond and their forbidden romance.
  • Caitlin's discovery of her own unique abilities and her role in the battle against evil.
  • Secrets from Caitlin's past start to unravel, revealing surprising connections to her present.

Chapters 11-15: Betrayal and Sacrifice

  • A betrayal within the vampire clan puts Caitlin and her loved ones in danger.
  • Caitlin's internal conflict between her loyalty to her human family and her duty as the Chosen One.
  • A sacrifice is made to protect Caitlin and her loved ones.
  • The battle against the evil vampires reaches a climax, with Caitlin facing off against a powerful adversary.

Main Events

  • Caitlin's encounter with the group of men and her rescue by Caleb.
  • Caitlin's decision to join Caleb's vampire clan and begin her training.
  • Caitlin's intense training sessions and her struggle to control her newfound powers.
  • Caitlin and Caleb's forbidden romance and the complications it brings.
  • The betrayal within the vampire clan and the resulting danger for Caitlin and her loved ones.
  • The ultimate battle between Caitlin and a powerful adversary, determining the fate of the world.

Themes and Insights

"Betrayed" explores themes of destiny, love, sacrifice, and the battle between good and evil. The story delves into the idea of accepting one's true identity and the challenges that come with embracing one's destiny. It also touches on the complexities of love and the difficult choices one must make when faced with conflicting loyalties. Through Caitlin's journey, readers gain insights into the power of determination, the importance of self-discovery, and the strength found in unexpected places.

Reader's Takeaway

"Betrayed" is an action-packed and emotionally charged novel that will captivate readers with its blend of paranormal fantasy, romance, and suspense. The story draws readers into a world of vampires and the battles they wage, while also exploring deeper themes of identity, love, and sacrifice. Morgan Rice's vivid storytelling and well-developed characters make "Betrayed" a compelling read that will leave readers eager to dive into the next installment of the "Vampire Journals" series.


"Betrayed" is an enthralling start to the "Vampire Journals" series, introducing readers to a captivating world of vampires and the Chosen One destined to save humanity. With its engaging plot, well-drawn characters, and exploration of themes such as destiny and love, Morgan Rice delivers a thrilling and emotionally resonant story that will leave readers eagerly awaiting the next installment.

Betrayed FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'Betrayed'?

    The genre of 'Betrayed' is young adult fantasy.

  2. Who is the author of 'Betrayed'?

    The author of 'Betrayed' is Morgan Rice.

  3. What is the publishing date of 'Betrayed'?

    The publishing date of 'Betrayed' is October 2, 2011.

  4. Is 'Betrayed' part of a series?

    'Betrayed' is the second book in the 'Vampire Journals' series.

  5. Can 'Betrayed' be read as a standalone book?

    While 'Betrayed' is part of a series, it can still be enjoyed as a standalone book.

  6. What is the main storyline of 'Betrayed'?

    'Betrayed' follows the journey of Caitlin Paine, a young vampire hunter, as she faces new challenges and battles supernatural forces.

  7. Are there any romantic elements in 'Betrayed'?

    Yes, 'Betrayed' includes romantic elements as Caitlin navigates her relationships with the vampires she encounters.

  8. What age group is 'Betrayed' suitable for?

    'Betrayed' is suitable for young adult readers, typically aged 13 and above.

  9. Are there any sequels or prequels to 'Betrayed'?

    Yes, 'Betrayed' is part of a series, so there are both prequels and sequels available for readers to continue Caitlin's story.

  10. Where can I purchase 'Betrayed'?

    You can purchase 'Betrayed' online through various retailers like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or directly from the author's website.