Estimated read time: 6 min read

One Sentence Summary

A young woman with the ability to possess other bodies must uncover the truth about a series of murders in her small town before she becomes the next victim.


In "Before I Wake" by Rachel Vincent, readers are taken on a thrilling journey into the supernatural world of banshees. With twists and turns at every corner, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Through the eyes of Kaylee Cavanaugh, a teenage girl with an extraordinary ability, Vincent explores themes of love, loss, and the lengths one will go to protect those they care about. Get ready to dive into a world where the line between life and death is blurred, and the consequences of one's actions can be devastating.

Brief Synopsis

The story is set in a small town called Eastlake, where Kaylee Cavanaugh lives a seemingly normal life. However, Kaylee is not like other teenagers. She is a banshee, a supernatural being with the ability to sense when someone is about to die. When Kaylee witnesses a fellow classmate's death at a party, she realizes that her ability is more than just a strange quirk. With the help of her best friend, Emma, and her boyfriend, Nash, Kaylee embarks on a journey to uncover the truth about her powers and her true identity.

As Kaylee delves deeper into the world of banshees, she discovers that there is a secret society called the Netherworld that is responsible for controlling and manipulating supernatural beings. She learns that her own family has a dark history with the Netherworld, and she must navigate through a web of lies and deception to uncover the truth. Along the way, Kaylee faces dangerous adversaries and must make difficult choices that could determine the fate of those she loves.

Main Events

1Kaylee witnesses a classmate's death at a party and realizes her powers are real.
2Kaylee confides in her best friend, Emma, about her abilities and they begin to research banshees.
3Kaylee meets Nash, a mysterious and attractive boy who seems to know more about her than he lets on.
4Kaylee and Nash uncover a secret society called the Netherworld that controls supernatural beings.
5Kaylee's family history with the Netherworld is revealed, and she must confront her own past.
6Kaylee and Nash confront the leader of the Netherworld and engage in a dangerous battle.
7The true extent of Kaylee's powers is revealed, and she must make a difficult choice to protect her loved ones.
8Kaylee and Nash's relationship is tested as they navigate the aftermath of their battle with the Netherworld.
9Kaylee discovers a new threat that could jeopardize the safety of all supernatural beings.
10Kaylee and her allies band together to confront the new threat and save their world.

Main Characters

Kaylee Cavanaugh

Kaylee is the protagonist of the story and a banshee. She has the ability to sense when someone is about to die. Determined and strong-willed, Kaylee is willing to risk everything to protect her loved ones and uncover the truth about her powers.

Nash Hudson

Nash is Kaylee's boyfriend and a key figure in the supernatural world. He is protective and fiercely loyal to Kaylee. Nash has his own secrets and is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Kaylee safe.

Emma Jenkins

Emma is Kaylee's best friend and confidante. She is smart and resourceful, always there to support Kaylee in her journey. Emma is determined to uncover the truth about banshees and the Netherworld.

Tod Hudson

Tod is Nash's brother and a reaper. He plays a crucial role in helping Kaylee navigate the supernatural world. Tod is witty and sarcastic, but also deeply caring and loyal.

Themes and Insights

Identity and Self-Discovery

Throughout the book, Kaylee grapples with questions of identity and self-discovery. As she learns more about her powers and her family's history, Kaylee must confront who she truly is and what it means to be a banshee. This theme explores the journey of self-acceptance and embracing one's true nature.

Love and Sacrifice

The theme of love and sacrifice is prevalent throughout the story. Kaylee and her loved ones are faced with difficult choices and must make sacrifices to protect each other. This theme explores the lengths one will go to for the people they care about and the power of love in overcoming adversity.

Good vs. Evil

The battle between good and evil is a central theme in "Before I Wake." Kaylee and her allies must confront the Netherworld and its leader, who represent the forces of darkness and manipulation. This theme explores the fight for justice and the struggle to maintain one's moral compass in the face of temptation.

Reader's Takeaway

"Before I Wake" is a captivating and thrilling read that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. Rachel Vincent's vivid storytelling and complex characters make for an engaging journey into the supernatural world of banshees. The themes of identity, love, and the battle between good and evil provide thought-provoking insights that will resonate with readers. Prepare to be immersed in a world where the supernatural and the ordinary collide, and where the choices we make can have far-reaching consequences.


"Before I Wake" by Rachel Vincent is a must-read for fans of supernatural fiction and young adult novels. With its compelling plot, well-developed characters, and thought-provoking themes, this book is a rollercoaster of emotions and suspense. Vincent's writing keeps the reader engaged and craving for more. Whether you're a fan of paranormal romance or simply love a good mystery, "Before I Wake" will not disappoint. Dive into the world of banshees and join Kaylee on her journey of self-discovery and the fight against evil.

Before I Wake FAQ

  1. What is the genre of 'Before I Wake'?

    The genre of 'Before I Wake' is young adult, urban fantasy.

  2. Who is the author of 'Before I Wake'?

    The author of 'Before I Wake' is Rachel Vincent.

  3. What is the main plot of 'Before I Wake'?

    'Before I Wake' follows the story of Kaylee Cavanaugh, a teenager who can foresee when someone is about to die. She must navigate her powers and make difficult choices when faced with a deadly threat to those she cares about.

  4. Is 'Before I Wake' part of a series?

    Yes, 'Before I Wake' is the sixth book in the Soul Screamers series.

  5. Can 'Before I Wake' be read as a standalone book?

    It is recommended to read the previous books in the Soul Screamers series before diving into 'Before I Wake' to fully understand the characters and their relationships.

  6. Are there supernatural elements in 'Before I Wake'?

    Yes, 'Before I Wake' features supernatural elements such as banshees and reapers.

  7. What age group is 'Before I Wake' suitable for?

    'Before I Wake' is suitable for young adult readers aged 14 and above.

  8. Is there romance in 'Before I Wake'?

    Yes, 'Before I Wake' includes romantic elements as part of the overall story.

  9. Where can I purchase 'Before I Wake'?

    'Before I Wake' can be purchased online from various book retailers or in physical bookstores.

  10. Are there any trigger warnings for 'Before I Wake'?

    Some potential trigger warnings for 'Before I Wake' include death, violence, and supernatural themes.